Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2008, 05:05 PM   #16
Member
 
analogmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: colorado springs
Posts: 591
Rewards Points: 500
Default

running wires in a conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingsmurf View Post
analogmusicman . . .I meant no offence friend . . . .heh you are a Lad of my similar age . .I was simply curious . . .obvious now that you have good grasp of sense to use what you know and ask for what you do not
many times when I have a long pull and working solo...I'll take the pull string and run it up and over a nearby height...and suspend an hefty weight from it...then go back to the feed end and lube and shove . . .works really good have used my portable winch many times as well

if work time table is such that I am going to complete conduit and then pull wire in same day . .I will spoog a load of yellow lube into conduit ends as I am assembling . . cleaning my fish as I pull it through . . .makes for sweet pull if a number of bends are involved . . .

good luck

no offense taken King...I've gotten quite a bit of good info from the pro's on this forum...

tnx,

analogmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 01:31 PM   #17
Member
 
analogmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: colorado springs
Posts: 591
Rewards Points: 500
Default

running wires in a conduit


been looking at the price of ccopper since the wire I'm using is so expensive. if I'm reading the charts right, copper is going (at least in early spring) for $4000/lb on the wholesale market, that's $250/oz, GADZOOKS,not far behind gold!

tnx,
analogmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 03:44 PM   #18
General Contractor
 
MacRoadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

running wires in a conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by analogmusicman View Post
been looking at the price of ccopper since the wire I'm using is so expensive. if I'm reading the charts right, copper is going (at least in early spring) for $4000/lb on the wholesale market, that's $250/oz, GADZOOKS,not far behind gold!

tnx,

You're reading the charts incorrectly. Copper closed today on the COMEX exchange at $3.58 per pound and on the LME (London Mercantile Exchange) at $3.65.
MacRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 04:13 PM   #19
Member
 
analogmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: colorado springs
Posts: 591
Rewards Points: 500
Default

running wires in a conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRoadie View Post
You're reading the charts incorrectly. Copper closed today on the COMEX exchange at $3.58 per pound and on the LME (London Mercantile Exchange) at $3.65.

sorry,distinguishing between commas and periods is not my strong suit!

if copper is THAT cheap, kinda makes you wonder why we're getting soaked for wire (considering that the copper in our wire is an alloy rather than pure copper)

tnx,
analogmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 04:43 PM   #20
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

running wires in a conduit


Copper is NOT "that cheap"!!
Do you realize how much copper is in wire???

Even though it is an alloy, consider if wire were pure copper.
Roughly 15.5 feet of 12/2NM cable is about one pound.
250' divided by 15.5 = 16.13 pound of copper in a roll of 12/2.
A roll cost around $75 these days.
16.13# x $3.58 = $57.75 worth of copper (market value) in a $75 roll.

Consider this. We can get almost $3 for clean scrap. That is $48 of scrap copper in a roll of 12/2. No wonder folks are stealing it right and left.

Even if there were only $50 worth of copper in a roll, that is a LOT, considering they have to make it and ship it to the distributor.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 05:35 PM   #21
Member
 
analogmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: colorado springs
Posts: 591
Rewards Points: 500
Default

running wires in a conduit


Copper is NOT "that cheap"!!


heh,heh...a lot cheaper'n I thought it was!


tnx,
analogmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 11:09 PM   #22
Member
 
analogmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: colorado springs
Posts: 591
Rewards Points: 500
Default

running wires in a conduit


A roll cost around $75 these days



must be talking about wholesale...HD charges lots more than that


tnx,
analogmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 05:06 AM   #23
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

running wires in a conduit


No, that's HD.

I always check it when I go there. I don't usually buy it, but I like to know what they are charging. I don't check my supply house bill every time because I know he is right in line with them.
I check wire prices every week or so. I should be checking them daily.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 06:27 AM   #24
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

running wires in a conduit


Prices for 250' of 12/2 as of yesterday in this part of SC: lowes $72, local Ace $69. Ace only stocks about three rolls though.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 08:05 AM   #25
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

running wires in a conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
Prices for 250' of 12/2 as of yesterday in this part of SC: lowes $72, local Ace $69. Ace only stocks about three rolls though.
those prices aren't incredibly bad. Anyone remember right after katrina when a 250' roll was $125?
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 08:08 AM   #26
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

running wires in a conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
those prices aren't incredibly bad. Anyone remember right after katrina when a 250' roll was $125?
I think the highest I paid was $109, shortly after Katrina. Bought a bunch at $39 earlier that summer.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 08:15 AM   #27
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

running wires in a conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
I think the highest I paid was $109, shortly after Katrina. Bought a bunch at $39 earlier that summer.
We were remodeling our kitchen shortly after, and I decided to find a deal on ebay. Won an auction for 250' 12/2 for $59 (store prices at that time were $90) plus $12 shipping... $71 total. By the time I got it, the store priced were down to $65.

*facepalm*
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 01:10 PM   #28
Member
 
analogmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: colorado springs
Posts: 591
Rewards Points: 500
Default

running wires in a conduit


this is probably a DUMB question and it must have been covered before but...do building codes specify what COLOR wires have to be? like does neutral HAVE to be white? hot HAS to be black? (or if you have two hots, do they have to be black and red?) ground HAS to be bare or green?

tnx,
analogmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 01:27 PM   #29
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

running wires in a conduit


The National Electric Code specifies color coding
Grounded conductor (neutral) white or grey
Gouunding conductor (ground) Green or green with a yellow stripe, or bare
Ungrounded conductor (hot) any color but white or grey or green
hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 01:37 PM   #30
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

running wires in a conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp58 View Post
The National Electric Code specifies color coding
Grounded conductor (neutral) white or grey
Gouunding conductor (ground) Green or green with a yellow stripe, or bare
Ungrounded conductor (hot) any color but white or grey or green
To add, orange for high leg/wild phase.

Analog, around here in Chicago, the following convention seems to be popular for ungrounded conductors in residential wiring. None are dictated nor required by either local or national code:

1. Hot: Black or Red (I have standardized in my own house so that black is always a receptacle ckt and red is always for lighting).
2. 1P Switch leg: Yellow
3. 3/4way Travellers: Blue or Brown

Jimmy

__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conduit Fill & Ampacity capndave Electrical 37 03-26-2008 02:16 PM
How many wires in 1/2" conduit? alvanos Electrical 17 02-26-2008 03:37 PM
Running wires in corners mt232 Electrical 13 04-10-2007 09:21 PM
Running wires mt232 Electrical 4 03-22-2007 08:02 AM
Running Conduit in new basement framed walls tben Electrical 3 12-10-2004 11:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.