Running Wires Alongside Or Through Ductwork - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2011, 10:53 AM   #1
Member
 
j_sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Running wires alongside or through ductwork


Hi All,
I am replacing the k-n-t wiring in my home and have some odd situations I need advice on:

1. Wires running through duct space -
In my older home, the forced air system actually uses the space between the floor joists as a return "duct". They simply nailed some sheet metal on the joists. In the main return the sheet metal actually sticks down an additional 8" to increase the volume of the duct. The existing wires run straight through these joist/duct spaces.

Can I do the same with my new wires?

I can route the wires around that space but it will add an additional 30-40' of wire to all the runs from one half of my house to the main panel.


2. Wires running along side pipes or ducts - There are several instances where wires are run from my basement to the first floor in the same space that duct work runs in (these are actual ducts, not like the ones in my first question). I also have a large cable going to a sub-panel in my attic that is fished up along the main vent pipe for my drains.

Can I fish my new wires in a similar fashion?
My concern is the lack of fastening on the runs. There doesn't appear to be much now so it should be easy to use the old wires to fish the new. If I can't then I will have to open some walls to get the runs up to the 2nd floor and attic.

Thanks.

Advertisement

j_sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 12:11 PM   #2
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Running wires alongside or through ductwork


Quote:
Originally Posted by j_sun View Post
Hi All,
I am replacing the k-n-t wiring in my home and have some odd situations I need advice on:

1. Wires running through duct space -
In my older home, the forced air system actually uses the space between the floor joists as a return "duct". They simply nailed some sheet metal on the joists. In the main return the sheet metal actually sticks down an additional 8" to increase the volume of the duct. The existing wires run straight through these joist/duct spaces.

Can I do the same with my new wires?

I can route the wires around that space but it will add an additional 30-40' of wire to all the runs from one half of my house to the main panel.


2. Wires running along side pipes or ducts - There are several instances where wires are run from my basement to the first floor in the same space that duct work runs in (these are actual ducts, not like the ones in my first question). I also have a large cable going to a sub-panel in my attic that is fished up along the main vent pipe for my drains.

Can I fish my new wires in a similar fashion?
My concern is the lack of fastening on the runs. There doesn't appear to be much now so it should be easy to use the old wires to fish the new. If I can't then I will have to open some walls to get the runs up to the 2nd floor and attic.

Thanks.
1. Wires can be run across such duct/joist spaces, passing through perpendicular to the "duct", but they can not be run down the length of a duct space.

2. No problem with wires being near ducts, and new wiring being fished into finished walls/ceilings is exempt from fastening requirements.

Advertisement

McSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
duct


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
plastic ductwork vs. metal: acoustic duct liners jjpclev HVAC 5 02-26-2010 08:29 PM
Short Wires in an Overfill HooKooDooKu Electrical 34 01-31-2010 01:18 AM
Can't find the wires! brianmarsh Home Theater 2 01-24-2010 08:11 AM
I installed a new thermostat and the fan will not stop running. The wires are correct TSA0282 HVAC 2 03-02-2009 04:20 PM
Running wires across bottom of joists WaldenL Electrical 8 01-25-2009 04:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts