Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2009, 11:30 AM   #1
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Share |
Question

Running wires across bottom of joists


OK, I'm beginning to be sorry I started reading up on the code, I never knew how bad my house was! Since it's existing work I assume I don't have to pull it out, but I've got probably a dozen different wires running like shown below. As I'm reading it, I cannot run wires smaller than 8AWG across the bottom of joists. I assume "smaller than" refers to physical size, not a lower AWG number. So, I cannot run 14AWG across the bottom of joists. Right?

Other than drilling (a lot) of holes in the joists what are my options here? I'm less worried about what's there already, it's there already, but if I run more, I assume I can't do the same since it's not up to code, but drilling all those holes seems silly too.

Running wires across bottom of joists-joistwires.jpg

WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 11:35 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Running wires across bottom of joists


I may stand corrected but I thought that was just in unfinished basements.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 11:53 AM   #3
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Default

Running wires across bottom of joists


This is in an unfinished basement. The joists in the pic are the bottom of the first floor. The pipe down the middle is a gas pipe, and the insulated pipe at the top of the pic is part of the heating system.
WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 11:57 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,344
Default

Running wires across bottom of joists


It is lower AWG than 8 guage. Your option is to place a running board beside the wires to protect them. I think the problem is preventing people using the wires as a clothes line.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 11:59 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Running wires across bottom of joists


Oh, I thought it was crawl space. In that case, if you're trying to "finish" the basement, I'm thinking acoustic ceiling.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 12:16 PM   #6
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Default

Running wires across bottom of joists


OK, not to be silly, "It is lower AWG than 8 guage." means a lower number (6) or a smaller size (14). IOW, it's ok to run 6AWG across the joists, but it's not ok to run 14AWG, right?
WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 12:36 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 489
Default

Running wires across bottom of joists


You are allowed to run a 1x board perpendicular to the joists and run them on the face of that.

Josh Jaros
jaros bros. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 02:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Running wires across bottom of joists


Quote:
Originally Posted by WaldenL View Post
OK, not to be silly, "It is lower AWG than 8 guage." means a lower number (6) or a smaller size (14). IOW, it's ok to run 6AWG across the joists, but it's not ok to run 14AWG, right?
Yes, lower gauge (14) not lower number
I used some old trim to run across the 2x joists, the nailed my wire to that as suggested
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 03:00 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

Running wires across bottom of joists


Just run them along the sill plate, and fasten to that. No running boards required.


kbsparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
garage ceiling joists josh123 Carpentry 6 07-14-2009 11:07 PM
running wires in a vaulted ceiling Did it myself Electrical 2 01-17-2009 07:37 AM
Heil DC90 - AC Wires keithshank HVAC 1 07-31-2008 08:37 PM
replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires gpet573 Electrical 4 06-03-2008 02:55 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.