Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2012, 02:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Share |
Question

Running wire for well pump


Just installed a well and need to run electrical power out to it. The run is about 100 ft, and the pump requires 240 and a 30 amp breaker.

I plan to later install booster pump and maybe a light after I build the pump house.

So here are my questions.

First from what I can tell, I need 8 gauge wire. (right, wrong?)
and since I am running 240 volts, 3 wires (2 hot + a return).

Since I might in the future need a 120V source out there do I need to run 4 conductor cable (8/3) or can I just split off a branch.

Also I am confused about the cable I need. Does 240 need 3 wires or 4?

Also since underground cable is about 2x the price, I was planning on using PVC and installing regular cable. Thoughts?

matkyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:02 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Running wire for well pump


How long of a run total with the wire going down the well?

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:04 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Running wire for well pump


The well is about 900 feet deep. it is wire with 3 10 Gauge wires.
matkyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:14 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Running wire for well pump


If you are planning on running a booster pump and some 120v stuff out there maybe you could add a 50 amp sub panel out there with some 6-3 w ground wire and you would have power for both the pump, booster pump and some 120v outlets without running all separate lines. 6-3 wire panel couple ground rods and ground wire.

I have seen many people put a shed around the well. Having a dry place to do well maintenance and an option to run a winch to help pull the pump if you need to replace or repair the pump in the future would be well worth it.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
matkyne (03-08-2012)
Old 03-08-2012, 02:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Running wire for well pump


So at 30A for a <5% voltage drop you need <.05 x 240v/30A = <0.4 ohm. For a 2000' loop distance you need a wire with <0.4/2000' = <0.2 ohms/1000'.

#3 copper?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:25 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Running wire for well pump


3 gauge wire seems excessive.
matkyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 04:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Running wire for well pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by matkyne View Post
3 gauge wire seems excessive.
To me, too.
Post your recommendation along with calcs.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 04:41 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,524
Default

Running wire for well pump


You cannot run indoor rated wire or cable inside a conduit that is outdoors or buried.

Straight 240 only requires 2 hot conductor and a ground.

If you are going to add other circuits you will need to run a feeder and add a subpanel. This would require a 4 wire feeder.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
zappa (03-08-2012)
Old 03-09-2012, 12:49 AM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Running wire for well pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by matkyne View Post
Just installed a well and need to run electrical power out to it. The run is about 100 ft, and the pump requires 240 and a 30 amp breaker.

I plan to later install booster pump and maybe a light after I build the pump house.

So here are my questions.

First from what I can tell, I need 8 gauge wire. (right, wrong?)
and since I am running 240 volts, 3 wires (2 hot + a return).

Since I might in the future need a 120V source out there do I need to run 4 conductor cable (8/3) or can I just split off a branch.

Also I am confused about the cable I need. Does 240 need 3 wires or 4?

Also since underground cable is about 2x the price, I was planning on using PVC and installing regular cable. Thoughts?
Quote:
Originally Posted by matkyne View Post
The well is about 900 feet deep. it is wire with 3 10 Gauge wires.


First thing first.,

The word 240 volt 30 amp for pump motour that means really nothing to me at all due we will need to know excat number like how many HP the motour itself that will make the differnce on sizing the conductor for the well motour.

Second thing the conductor size from your main panel to subpanel at the pump house if you want 40 amp circuit I can able tell you what size but need to know the distance from main panel to the pump house or at well head location is.

Third thing you can not run NM cable in conduit for underground useage it is not legal per NEC code so only way you can do this is use the Direct burial cable ( UF cable ) or run in PVC conduit with THHN/THWN conductors those two items are approved for underground runs.

Now next thing is sencie you mention light and couple other things so you will have to bring out 4 conductor not three conductor.

For the pressure switch will be at the well head or in the house that will make the differnce.

I know you mention 900 feet I have simauir depth well in Wisconsin but the pump itself is only down about 500 feet so I do not have to use seriously oversized conductor ( due I did have 480 volts triphase pump motour there )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 10:31 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Running wire for well pump


And maybe somebody makes a pump motor with a long driveshaft that hooks to a much deeper pump. Copper costs.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 08:58 PM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Running wire for well pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
And maybe somebody makes a pump motor with a long driveshaft that hooks to a much deeper pump. Copper costs.
Not for small well pumps. the larger one do have jackshaft set up so the motour stay at the top.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
240 volt, pump, water


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakers, wire size and new heat pump ACR_SCOUT Electrical 21 01-29-2012 02:25 PM
Running wire to garage,HELP!! jukebox64 Electrical 4 03-17-2011 06:36 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
Sump Pump Questions henlij Plumbing 19 08-12-2009 07:50 PM
wire running question ponch37300 Electrical 4 04-21-2009 03:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.