Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2009, 07:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Share |
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


I'm running a wire from my sub panel in my garage to an outlet in my backyard for a small pool pump and filter. I dug a trench and bought some 3/4" pvc pipe and a box for the gfci outlet and a LB for coming out of the garage. I will use romex wire in the garage from the panel to a junction box on the outside wall and then switch to outdoor wire. It is going to be 12 gauge wire.

My question is what is the best wire to use to run threw the pvc to the outlet? Should I use 12-2 uf outdoor wire or should I use stranded thhn or similar and run 3 individual wires out there? Thanks for your help on this.

ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:06 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,743
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


My choice is thwn wire instead of the uf cable.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:07 PM   #3
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


If it is for a pool pump it MUST be individual wires in conduit, There is no choice.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:10 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,743
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
If it is for a pool pump it MUST be individual wires in conduit, There is no choice.
Missed that part!! That makes it no choice then.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 09:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


Well if there is no choice than that makes it an easy decision! Just out of curiosity what is the reasoning behind it must be individual stranded wire for a pool pump? The pool pump is just one of those little ones you plug in if that matters. I will go tomorrow and get individual wires then. Thanks for your help.
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 09:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


It needs to be an insulated ground
Cable assemblies have a bare ground
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 09:27 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


I see. I know there are different kinds of stranded wire. What kind is the best to use in this situation? The only kind I have used before was THHN. Not sure what the differences are but what kind should I use here. Thanks
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 09:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


Cable assemblies. I like that

"My residential certified technician will need to install several feet of cable assembly in order to relocate your luminaire, so it could get quite expensive".
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 10:52 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


It must be THWN. Don't be concerned as THHN is also rated THWN. The "w" stands for wet. And thats what you have, a wet location even in conduit.

How far is the total run of conduit. You might want to use #10 wire on a 20 amp breaker just for the sake of it.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 11:11 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


FWIW, if it meets the definition of a storable pool (max water depth 42" or less and some others) Part 1 & 3 of 680 apply and uf is acceptable. Part II of 680 is what requires the ground to be insulated.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 02:53 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


It is a storable pool less than 42". The run is not that far, maybe 40 ft. So THHN is acceptable for this? I looked at home depot today and all they had was 500 ft rolls of thhn and they are 40 bucks a peice and I would need 3 of them. In case this matters its not a direct wire pump, just need an outlet to plug the pump into. Thanks again for the help
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 09:41 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

running wire underground for outdoor outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by ponch37300 View Post
It is a storable pool less than 42". The run is not that far, maybe 40 ft. So THHN is acceptable for this? I looked at home depot today and all they had was 500 ft rolls of thhn and they are 40 bucks a peice and I would need 3 of them. In case this matters its not a direct wire pump, just need an outlet to plug the pump into. Thanks again for the help
Thats news to me. I thought HD cut wire???? You do not need 3 rolls. You need 3 lengths cut to your requirements. I know HD and Lowes will cut any size wire in my area.
Add a few extra feet when having wire cut. Better to have to much than not enough. They will not take back cut wire.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
underground wire for outdoor lights din Electrical 3 05-06-2009 11:38 AM
Service wire thru attic Poot Electrical 23 02-10-2009 07:17 AM
Requirements for running wire under mobile home? MikeVila Electrical 9 11-03-2008 08:41 AM
running wire to a detached shed subpanel amakarevic Electrical 9 03-27-2008 05:15 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.