Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2010, 12:27 PM   #1
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Running wire under floor


I am in the planning stages of finishing my breezeway (area between garage and house). The floor of the breezeway is a slab of concrete. The house-side wall is the orginal brick that was done with the house.

My plan is to use 2x4s on their sides to frame a floor. From the slab up, the floor would be: concrete->plastic->2x4's & insulation-> plywood->tile.

I need to get electrical (120 only) from the house side to the garage side for some ceiling lights and a receptacle or two. Can I cut a notch into the rigid insulation and run wire under the subfloor? Is this allowed?

Is this considered a wet location since it will be finished? I guess I can run conduit with THWN inside it to be safe.

What is the preferred method?

Thanks.

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 02:53 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,793
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Running wire under floor


If the ceiling is open, that may be the best way.
You can not just run it under the sub floor, you would have to drill each 2/4 and pull the wire through.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 03:17 PM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running wire under floor


Problem is, the wire would enter the breezeway from the basement through the bottom of the brick wall, through the block on the bottom. I have no good way to run the wire up through that "exterior" wall. Since the floor is not even installed yet (and the 2x4's will probably be parallel to the direction I want to run the wire), I think under the floor is easiest...but is it up to code? Not sure if this is considered a wet location or not. Thanks.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 06:32 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,560
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Running wire under floor


Since the 2x4 will be on their sides the wire will need to be protect the full length since it will be within 1.25" of the edge of the 2x4.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 08:42 PM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running wire under floor


Joed, good point, didn't think of that. So, is Sch. 40 PVC conduit with THHN/THWN wire inside alright? Or should I use metallic or schedule 80?

This will be about an 8 foot run, is it ok to just run romex right in the conduit, or do I have to go with individual strands?

Thanks.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:09 PM   #6
Love for Construction
 
<*(((><'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 318
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running wire under floor


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Joed, good point, didn't think of that. So, is Sch. 40 PVC conduit with THHN/THWN wire inside alright? Or should I use metallic or schedule 80?

This will be about an 8 foot run, is it ok to just run romex right in the conduit, or do I have to go with individual strands?

Thanks.
Inside rigid conduit you have to use individual strands of wires.

Inside flexible conduit you have to use individual strands of 'stranded' wire.

Does that make sense?


Sounds like, being that you cannot run it up the exterior wall any, your best bet is to go with a direct burial line or run a conduit.
<*(((>< is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:12 PM   #7
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running wire under floor


Well, no way to bury wire since the concrete slab is already there. I'll run it with individual strands inside the conduit...is PVC OK?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:22 PM   #8
Love for Construction
 
<*(((><'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 318
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running wire under floor


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Well, no way to bury wire since the concrete slab is already there. I'll run it with individual strands inside the conduit...is PVC OK?
Now when people on this site say, "is PVC ok?" I immediately think sprinkler lines. Is that what you are talking about? Or are you referring to PVC electrical conduit (grey in color)?

The correct conduit to use is the grey electrical conduit, and any exposed conduit above grade needs to be schedule 40, anything below can be schedule 20. At least this is has been my experiences. They like to see a heavier schedule for above grade due to sun exposure and for greater resistance to damage.

I didn't realize you would not have any access to either side of the slab to direct bury a line. So in your case it seems that conduit is the route for you, but maybe someone else sees or thinks of a different opportunity.

Hope this helps.
<*(((>< is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:23 PM   #9
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running wire under floor


I would definitely be using gray electrical conduit, not white PVC pipe. Thanks.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:30 PM   #10
Love for Construction
 
<*(((><'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 318
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running wire under floor


Don't forget to cement the conduit together, just FYI. Let us know how it turns out.
<*(((>< is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 06:37 AM   #11
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running wire under floor


Will do, thanks - I have used it before - I ran a new line for a lamppost in my yard.

I probably won't be doing this for a few months, just trying to plan things out. Thanks for the advice!
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 07:12 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running wire under floor


reason to not run 2x on edge?
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 07:52 AM   #13
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running wire under floor


I don't have much headroom over the door where the roof comes down, so I can't really raise the floor any more than a couple inches or else the door might not fit...
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 09:15 AM   #14
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,560
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Running wire under floor


I don't think PVC counts as the protection required. This is to protect from driving a nail or screw into the wires. PVC doen't offer very much protection.
Also since it is only for protection you could leave the ends open and just run a cable through it out of the basement wall and into the garage wall.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 09:19 AM   #15
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running wire under floor


True, so I guess rigid metallic is the way to go? Could I use flexible metallic?

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardwood floor questions (56K) ukrainetz Flooring 1 08-02-2009 01:08 PM
wire running question ponch37300 Electrical 4 04-21-2009 03:58 PM
Requirements for running wire under mobile home? MikeVila Electrical 9 11-03-2008 08:41 AM
Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home? drh Electrical 12 02-16-2008 06:27 PM
Running a ground wire T Blanco Electrical 3 01-07-2008 03:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.