Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-16-2011, 01:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running wire to garage,HELP!!


I am trying to run the wire from house to my new garage. I have 220v #6 wire coming off of the house where a hot tub use to be,I have the breaker box in the garage. Planning on running #6 wire from existing wire in back of house out to garage. My question is can I use the greay PVC to run the #6 wire in,burried in the ground,is so what do I use to connect new wire to the existing wire?

jukebox64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 05:38 AM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Running wire to garage,HELP!!


NO splices underground. they must be accessible. So what I recommend is a jbox where the wire for hot tub comes up, then going back underground with PVC to garage. I think 1in conduit will be big enough, but oversize pipe will make it easier to pull in. Burial depth for back yards in pipe in 18". you will need to use THWN/THHN #6 cu wire

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 11:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Running wire to garage,HELP!!


Use the search function above for sub panels. It has more answers than you have questions.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 11:24 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE Mass
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Running wire to garage,HELP!!


.......and use an expansion coupling where the PVC emerges from the ground.
You can use pre-insulated set-screw connectors to splice the #6's.
Ilsco #PBTS-2-4.
http://www.ilsco.com/ProductsDetail....FrVCsYL8FTw%3d

Saturday is right, you need to put a PVC box (6x6x4 or 8x8x4) on the side of the house, (so hot-tub cable or pipe can enter into it).
Run your pvc from it to the garage, splice the wires in there.
Don't forget to run a ground in the pvc too.
Do It Right is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 06:36 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running wire to garage,HELP!!


I should have specified,there is already a box on the side of the house with #6 wire running into it through conduit coming out of the soffet. I wanted to make sure that I have all the right materials,and I was having trouble feeding the wire up the garage and through the 90s to the breaker box,so I called in a power greater than myseld. Thanks guys.
jukebox64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
running 2 circuits off 14/3 wire 2mshepherd Electrical 3 06-15-2010 12:16 AM
Running Under ground wire Robbro137 Electrical 1 08-21-2009 05:11 PM
wire running question ponch37300 Electrical 4 04-21-2009 03:58 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.