Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2012, 09:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running Wire From Existing Outlet


I'm planning on connecting romex from an outlet to a switch that will power a ceiling fan. There are 2 studs between the outlet and the switch box. I unscrewed the outlet from the wall and saw that there are two knockouts being used. Would it be easiest to cutout the current outlet box to have the space and after running the wire to the switch install an old work box? Also, where should I cut the drywall. I was thinking I would need to cut it next to the switch box and where the wire will be making the first 90 degree turn after coming up from the outlet. Should that work? I'm trying to cut as few holes in my wall as possible.

Thanks for the advice!

bgitler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 10:10 PM   #2
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running Wire From Existing Outlet


All depends on how much access you have.
In some older homes you can gain access behind wooden baseboard to run wire.
If this room is above a basement you could drill up between the wall and fish the wires without cutting any sheetrock.
A right angle drill might work to drill thru the studs.
You could also cut out a rectangle section of drywall between the two studs for easiest access.
If you cut it neatly, it should go back without much fuss

There are other things to consider besides running wire.
Obviously this outlet feeds other devices, and as i understand, you want to use the power from this outlet to feed the switch.
You will need to determine which wire is the line in and which is the feeder.
When you find which wire is the source, twist it together with the new black wire and a pigtail.

You should also consider box fill limitations, wire size, and breaker amps.
If its 14awg on a 15amp breaker, youll probably be ok.

__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MisterZ For This Useful Post:
bgitler (08-23-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swithced Outlet to Ceiling Light/Fan Troubles adamiano86 Electrical 7 01-29-2012 10:36 PM
Replacing outlet - no ground wire clydesdale Electrical 17 12-18-2011 03:29 AM
3 wire 50 amp outlet with 4 wire cable dlyon2 Electrical 9 10-09-2011 07:32 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
wire running question ponch37300 Electrical 4 04-21-2009 04:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.