Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2008, 10:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Share |
Question

running wire to a detached shed subpanel


INTRO: to install a 40 or 50 AMP subpanel in a shed, which will be used for lighting inside, a 15, a 20, and a 30 amp (240V) outlet, as well as a garage door, i plan to run a weatherproof cable from my basement to the subpanel.

Q1: which gauge wire should i use and how many wires in the cable ? i was thinking 6/2 ?

Q2: which size plastic conduit should i use ? i thought that 3/4 should do.

Q3: will the new subpanel require a grounding rod ?

Q4: the wire shall run from the front of the basement its entire length (approx. 50 ft) to the back, then go through the wall outside. is it appropriate to use regular indoor cable inside and then a JB to connect it to the wet cable going outside to save $, assuming that the latter is more expensive ?

much obliged,

- a -

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 10:45 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,535
Default

running wire to a detached shed subpanel


Q1 - 6/3UF or three #6THWN, one #10THWN in conduit.
Q2 - use 1"
Q3 - yes
Q4 - 6/3NM to UF, 6/3NM to THWN, or UF all the way.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 10:56 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Question

running wire to a detached shed subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
Q1 - 6/3UF or three #6THWN, one #10THWN in conduit.
...
Q4 - 6/3NM to UF, 6/3NM to THWN, or UF all the way.
what is the technically simplest vs. the cheapest solution ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 01:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Question

running wire to a detached shed subpanel


also, do you recommend a 40 or a 50 AMP subpanel ?

thanks,

- a -
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 01:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

running wire to a detached shed subpanel


Easiest way is UF all the way if you can do it. Less splices and j boxes means less chance for failure.

UF is rated for direct burial @ 24" .

It is difficult to pull thru smaller (less than 1 1/2") unless it's a straight shot.


I am not a big UF fan and I have all the tools and materials available so I would use romex (NM) inside to a j box, underground with 1" PVC and pull in THWN @ 18" deep to the panel (or to another j box, back to romex(NM) and to the panel)


40 or 50? Bigger is generally better.

If you go 40 you can use 3#8's and a 10 ground and 3/4" conduit.

Last edited by 220/221; 03-27-2008 at 01:44 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 01:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Question

running wire to a detached shed subpanel


does your preferred way involve using multiple THWNs or do they come bundled in a cable ?

what is the difference b/ween UF and THWN ?

thanks,

- a -
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 03:28 PM   #7
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,535
Default

running wire to a detached shed subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
does your preferred way involve using multiple THWNs or do they come bundled in a cable ?

what is the difference b/ween UF and THWN ?

thanks,

- a -
UF is a made weatherproof cable consisting of two or more insulated conductors and a bare grounding conductor. THWN is an individual wire rated for wet locations.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 04:30 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Default

running wire to a detached shed subpanel


in other words, to make it simple, go UF rather than THWN.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 05:13 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

running wire to a detached shed subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
in other words, to make it simple, go UF rather than THWN.

No...the same words

Quote:
Easiest way is UF all the way if you can do it. Less splices and j boxes means less chance for failure.

UF is rated for direct burial @ 24" .
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 05:15 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Question

running wire to a detached shed subpanel


is it deeper or shallower than 24" that i should be worrying about ? i will be going deeper.

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subpanel - detached structure former33t Electrical 9 03-13-2008 09:49 PM
running wire to detached garage amakarevic Electrical 2 02-28-2008 02:17 PM
Subpanel to Shed - Check my plan NateHanson Electrical 9 04-26-2007 09:56 PM
Can i add a subpanel fed by 10/2 wire? qst4sno Electrical 25 04-25-2007 05:14 AM
running wire questions jude Electrical 4 12-01-2006 12:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.