Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2007, 07:20 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Share |
Default

Running wire in the attic


DuncanB,
Just looking for clarification here.
You state "You cannot drill or notch in this area. Only the outer 1/3 of the span." However, the passage you quoted only talks about notches and not holes. I can't find anything that says you can't drill. Can you provide supporting documentation that addresses being unable to drill in the middle third of a joist?
Thanks

__________________
It takes less time to do a thing right than it does to explain why you did it wrong.
-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 09:24 AM   #17
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,979
Default

Running wire in the attic


I think Duncan is referring to engineered joists, without an engineering stamp on the bored hole design you wouldn't be able to bore the center of this type joist. You are allowed to bore the center one third of a dimensional lumber joist. If a 2x10 your max. hole would be a hole 3 1/16" in diameter. Note that a 2x10 actual is 9 1/4". In the link I posted earlier note that under the heading it states that unless altered by an engineering drawing with signed and approved stamp. As an example here is a joist span that is bored right thru the center with a 4 inch hole on 2x10 dimensional. This was in violation of IRC rules. However the design has an engineering approval based on the sister joists and use of adhesive so it was acceptable. (taken from the NACHI Website)

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 02:05 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Running wire in the attic


It's great that we all try to give sound and NEC required advice to the DIY'ers. But sometimes I think we get a little to carried away. Probabaly even confuse someone.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 03:35 PM   #19
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,979
Default

Running wire in the attic


J.V.

The last 5 or 6 replies aren't even geared towards the original poster. They are a result of other inquiries, probably should have suggested a new thread. I asked Wease about 30 circuits because I don't think you should try to take 30 circuits thru bored holes in ceiling joists. He is wanting to run parallel and then at times branch off perpendicular like the can lights. he was inquiring about a situation like this where he was thinking he could run perpendicular on the face of the joists in a permenently accessed attic if he was back close to the rafters.


by code you could not but I do believe an inspector may allow what he was asking by exception. In this photo and stating that the longest joist shown is the middle joist and it is showing exactly 1/3 of the span. then anywhere in that picture I can bore or notch acorrding to IRC rules. You could also have running boards. I think I would just do running boards from plywood and or 1x2 if running perpendicular. If parallel I would staple those 30 circuits to two or three joists using the face and stay up from the drywall face a couple inches even though not required.

But I agree J.V. we got way out in left field beyond what wease was asking.

Stubbie
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 10-11-2007 at 09:57 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 10:46 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 45
Default

Running wire in the attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
It's great that we all try to give sound and NEC required advice to the DIY'ers. But sometimes I think we get a little to carried away. Probabaly even confuse someone.

Well now, isn't that just to bad.......
ChristopherSprks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 07:30 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Default

Running wire in the attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
J.V.

The last 5 or 6 replies aren't even geared towards the original poster. They are a result of other inquiries, probably should have suggested a new thread. I asked Wease about 30 circuits because I don't think you should try to take 30 circuits thru bored holes in ceiling joists. He is wanting to run parallel and then at times branch off perpendicular like the can lights. he was inquiring about a situation like this where he was thinking he could run perpendicular on the face of the joists in a permenently accessed attic if he was back close to the rafters.


by code you could not but I do believe an inspector may allow what he was asking by exception. In this photo and stating that the longest joist shown is the middle joist and it is showing exactly 1/3 of the span. then anywhere in that picture I can bore or notch acorrding to IRC rules. You could also have running boards. I think I would just do running boards from plywood and or 1x2 if running perpendicular. If parallel I would staple those 30 circuits to two or three joists using the face and stay up from the drywall face a couple inches even though not required.

But I agree J.V. we got way out in left field beyond what wease was asking.

Stubbie
That's what I'm going to do. I have a catwalk setup in the attic and I think I will raise it with 2x4's and run the wires under that.

Thanks for the excellent help all.

wease is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running coax from attic to room below, via exterior wall? curls00 Electrical 13 08-15-2007 02:18 PM
Open beam ceiling and running wire... Alan Electrical 2 12-10-2006 09:14 PM
Running Romex up from basement to attic tra999 Electrical 1 07-25-2006 04:21 AM
Running Romex in the attic mdalli Electrical 7 07-06-2006 05:35 PM
running ethernet through attic null_pointer_us Building & Construction 3 05-15-2006 05:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.