Running Wire Along Sill Question - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2012, 05:35 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Running wire along sill question


Dont know how you can run cable along a rim joist. Typically a rim joist will have the floor joists every 16 or 24 inches. Now the sill plate is a different topic.

Advertisement

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 05:39 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

Running wire along sill question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Dont know how you can run cable along a rim joist. Typically a rim joist will have the floor joists every 16 or 24 inches. Now the sill plate is a different topic.

Im assuming he means the center carrying beam.... or something of that nature, either way, its all acceptable.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 06:08 PM   #18
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,762
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Running wire along sill question


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
This is only if you are running on the BOTTOM of joist.... we are talking about the sill plate and rim board.
I agree with the sited code section for under the joists and with you when stapled to the sill plate or rim joist.

That was easy!!

Now, why can't all discussions be so civilized?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 06:30 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running wire along sill question


Thanks for the clarification stickboy. I'm running the wires above the top foundation along the sill plate and areas of the rim joist. You can still finish the basement. I have the same scenario in other areas of my basement and I put in a finished basement.

Advertisement

RISurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 05:02 PM
Wire question RedBear Electrical 7 01-10-2010 06:28 PM
Running Under ground wire Robbro137 Electrical 1 08-21-2009 06:11 PM
running wire underground for outdoor outlet ponch37300 Electrical 11 06-26-2009 10:41 AM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 12:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts