Running Wire Along Sill Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2012, 07:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running wire along sill question


I am running 4 wires along the house sill plate new construction. Is this to code? Can I staple the wires to the sill plate and the rim joists? Also for new construction kitchen receptacles can I install non-gfci if the circuit will be on a gfci breaker?will the inspector approve?

Advertisement

RISurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 08:33 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,743
Rewards Points: 602
Default

Running wire along sill question


Why would you not run the wires through a drilled hole in the floor joist? That way the wires would not be in the way later when someone wanted to finish the basement.

Advertisement

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 10:35 AM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,651
Rewards Points: 2,616
Default

Running wire along sill question


Quote:
Originally Posted by RISurfer View Post
I am running 4 wires along the house sill plate new construction. Is this to code? Can I staple the wires to the sill plate and the rim joists? Also for new construction kitchen receptacles can I install non-gfci if the circuit will be on a gfci breaker?will the inspector approve?
I believe per code, if the wire is running perpendicular to a joist, you have to drill a hole in the joist to run the wire.

Regardless..I think Joe is right....drill some holes and get those wires up out of the way. You want them at least 1.5" inboard to that it's unlikely a nail or screw will hit it.

On the outlets....yes, you can wire a TR outlet off the load side of a GFIC. It will be just as protected as the GFIC is.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 10:54 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Running wire along sill question


He asked of he could use a gfci breaker. Yes you can. Makes no difference if you use a breaker or plug. Needs to be 20a though.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 12:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,013
Rewards Points: 2,206
Default

Running wire along sill question


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
He asked of he could use a gfci breaker. Yes you can. Makes no difference if you use a breaker or plug. Needs to be 20a though.
Actually, for the kitchen he'll need two of them.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 12:42 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running wire along sill question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
I believe per code, if the wire is running perpendicular to a joist, you have to drill a hole in the joist to run the wire.

Regardless..I think Joe is right....drill some holes and get those wires up out of the way. You want them at least 1.5" inboard to that it's unlikely a nail or screw will hit it.

On the outlets....yes, you can wire a TR outlet off the load side of a GFIC. It will be just as protected as the GFIC is.

I am helping the electrician do some of the work such as running the wires. He told me to run the wires along the sill plate on top of the concrete walls and then run them in to the stud bays. He didn't want me to run the wires through the floor joists. I figured this was one way of doing it.
RISurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 01:48 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,743
Rewards Points: 602
Default

Running wire along sill question


Is it faster to not have to drill the holes, yes.
Is someone going to have to go back and rerun the wires or add shims later if you do not drill the holes, most likely if you finish the basement.

Last edited by joecaption; 08-01-2012 at 01:50 PM.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 02:01 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Running wire along sill question


Exposed "romex" smaller than 8AWG running at angles with joists in unfinished basements and crawl spaces must either be run thru bored holes in the joists or on running boards. 334.15C
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 02:58 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running wire along sill question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Exposed "romex" smaller than 8AWG running at angles with joists in unfinished basements and crawl spaces must either be run thru bored holes in the joists or on running boards. 334.15C
I'm using 14/2 and 12/2 should I bore holes through all the joists? Right now the wire runs parallel with the sill and adjacent to the joists.
RISurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 03:23 PM   #10
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Running wire along sill question


Quote:
Originally Posted by RISurfer View Post
I am running 4 wires along the house sill plate new construction. Is this to code? Can I staple the wires to the sill plate and the rim joists? Also for new construction kitchen receptacles can I install non-gfci if the circuit will be on a gfci breaker?will the inspector approve?
If you follow the letter of the code. No. However, for the 36+ years I have been wiring houses, it is commonly done. Just keep the wires up against the sill. As an inspector, I don't have a problem with it either. You may want to ask your local EI.

If you install GFI breakers, GFI receptacles are not necessary. You'll just have to run back to the panel everytime one trips.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.

Last edited by electures; 08-01-2012 at 03:26 PM.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 04:59 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Running wire along sill question


Quote:
Originally Posted by RISurfer View Post
I am running 4 wires along the house sill plate new construction. Is this to code?
Yes.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RISurfer View Post
Can I staple the wires to the sill plate and the rim joists?
Yes.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RISurfer View Post
Also for new construction kitchen receptacles can I install non-gfci if the circuit will be on a gfci breaker?will the inspector approve?
Yes.

Well, that was an easy one.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 05:00 PM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Running wire along sill question


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
If you follow the letter of the code. No.
Okay, lets duke it out, what code section would you call?
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 05:05 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Running wire along sill question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Exposed "romex" smaller than 8AWG running at angles with joists in unfinished basements and crawl spaces must either be run thru bored holes in the joists or on running boards. 334.15C
This is only if you are running on the BOTTOM of joist.... we are talking about the sill plate and rim board.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 05:06 PM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Running wire along sill question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Why would you not run the wires through a drilled hole in the floor joist? That way the wires would not be in the way later when someone wanted to finish the basement.

And the wires would not be in the way... they would be stapled on a sill plate or rim board.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 05:13 PM   #15
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Running wire along sill question





These are wires stapled to a sill plate... this is not a violation, As they are NOT stapled to the bottom of a joist.

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 05:02 PM
Wire question RedBear Electrical 7 01-10-2010 06:28 PM
Running Under ground wire Robbro137 Electrical 1 08-21-2009 06:11 PM
running wire underground for outdoor outlet ponch37300 Electrical 11 06-26-2009 10:41 AM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 12:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts