Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2009, 07:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Question

Running Wire


Hello,
I am trying to understand what is the proper way to run wires from one floor to another. I understand fishing the wire, I understand drilling holes, I understand the 1 1/4 inch from surface clearance and the need for metal plates if this clearance is not met. What I do not understand is what code requires when you are running wire (i.e. NM 12/2) stapled to the side of 2x4 that leads to the floor above. If you staple the wire or wires and do not meet the 1 1/4" clearance, how do you protect the wire? Similarly to protecting the wire through bored holes with a metal plate. Also, do all holes going up inside the wall need to be fill with some special silicone or something similar? Thanks in advance for your time and replies.

Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 07:46 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Running Wire


run it in conduit?
fill holes with fire block caulk.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 09:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Running Wire


Thanks for your time and reply. Running conduit would be a nightmare and is not really what I am looking for. I would assume I would run into derating issues which I would like to avoid. Thanks again.
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 09:24 PM   #4
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bocolo View Post
Hello,
I am trying to understand what is the proper way to run wires from one floor to another. I understand fishing the wire, I understand drilling holes, I understand the 1 1/4 inch from surface clearance and the need for metal plates if this clearance is not met. What I do not understand is what code requires when you are running wire (i.e. NM 12/2) stapled to the side of 2x4 that leads to the floor above. If you staple the wire or wires and do not meet the 1 1/4" clearance, how do you protect the wire? Similarly to protecting the wire through bored holes with a metal plate. Also, do all holes going up inside the wall need to be fill with some special silicone or something similar? Thanks in advance for your time and replies.

When you say staple to the 2x4 what do you really mean? Are you talking about in the basement the 2x4 that the studs are nailed too? Also if your fishing a wire in a wall you dont have to worry about meeting the 1 1/4" clearance. And if you want to fill the holes you can use expanding hole filler
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 09:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Running Wire


Thanks for your time. I am trying to fish a couple of wires from the basement up to the third floor. I have found a path which takes me from the basement, up the bottom plate of the first floor, then go through a fire block in the middle of the wall up the bottom plate of the second floor, through another fire block in the middle of the wall and so on until I get to the ceiling of the second floor. I would have to bore holes through plates and fireblocks and understand code for doing that but I can't find anything related on what to do when you staple the wires to the studs going up along this path. Thanks again.
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 10:38 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Running Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bocolo View Post
I would have to bore holes through plates and fireblocks and understand code for doing that but I can't find anything related on what to do when you staple the wires to the studs going up along this path. Thanks again.
You have to do nothing to them. Wires fished inside finished walls do not need to be stapled!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 11:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Running Wire


First, let me express my gratitude to all who have taken some of their precious time to answer. Second, forgive my ignorance. I am trying to learn something new. I am starting to get the feeling that I have misinterpreted what I read on the code book. Where does stapling the wire every 4 1/2 feet and within 12" inches of every box come into play? Thanks again for all your help.
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 11:18 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Running Wire


That is when the walls are open - new construction usually or during a complete gut & renovation
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 11:27 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Running Wire


Thanks again. This forum is very helpful. Just out of curiosity, how many wires can you run up a wall cavity between studs that are 16" on center? Let's say I ran 5 or 6 wires. Would it pose any danger to have these wires behind the entire height of such wall? Thanks.
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 11:24 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Running Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bocolo View Post
Thanks again. This forum is very helpful. Just out of curiosity, how many wires can you run up a wall cavity between studs that are 16" on center? Let's say I ran 5 or 6 wires. Would it pose any danger to have these wires behind the entire height of such wall? Thanks.
I would say as many as you need. I know of no code requirement or issue with running multiple cables in one stud bay.

No danger. The Nm cables are designed for this purpose. Concealed behind walls, ceilings and crawl spaces. Dry locations only.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 12:18 PM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Running Wire


guess i misunderstood, sorry about that. i thought for some reason you couldn't staple to center of EXPOSED stud.
but don't forget, you still need fireblock caulking for any holes you make.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 12:56 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Running Wire


I understand the firestopping now. I think I misinterpreted the code (2005) where it stated that in both concealed and exposed spaces where wire was being run parallel to framing members the cable "shall" be supported. But, there is an exception for concealed work in finished buildings. Thanks for your help.

Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
running wire to detached garage amakarevic Electrical 2 02-28-2008 03:17 PM
Running a ground wire T Blanco Electrical 3 01-07-2008 04:17 PM
Open beam ceiling and running wire... Alan Electrical 2 12-10-2006 10:14 PM
running wire questions jude Electrical 4 12-01-2006 01:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.