Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 09:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


So bought some new direct bury wire 2224. Need to know what i need between the main box and the trench, and between the trench and sub panel.
Already have the subpanel wired up. The main panel is 200a w/ a 100 amp breaker installed for the garage line.

Does the wire from the main paned need to be in conduit from the main panel untill it goes under the dirt, or where?

When the wire comes up, where does the conduit need to start? Just below the dirt or where?

Thanks!

mechanic30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 09:21 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,178
Rewards Points: 2,266
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


The conduit needs to go down to the burial depth of the wire (24") from the panel down and the trench up to the sub. Schedule 40 if not subject to damage, schedule 80 if subject to damage.

Example of subject to damage: Driveway along side house where conduit is located.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
mechanic30 (12-06-2012)
Old 12-06-2012, 09:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


Do I need conduit from the main panel in my hallway in the house, up through the attic, out and down, or just as it leaves the house?
mechanic30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 09:38 PM   #4
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


I think it's 8 feet above grade to 2' below, you also need to bury warning tape above the wire underground, have to check on the specs.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:14 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,178
Rewards Points: 2,266
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by mechanic30 View Post
Do I need conduit from the main panel in my hallway in the house, up through the attic, out and down, or just as it leaves the house?
Conduit must be continuous from the panel to the trench.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 06:50 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


Should the ground be seperated from the neutral at the main (home) breaker box too?
mechanic30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:07 AM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by mechanic30 View Post
Do I need conduit from the main panel in my hallway in the house, up through the attic, out and down, or just as it leaves the house?
You cannot use USE for interior wiring.

Quote:
(B) Underground Service-Entrance Cable. Underground
service-entrance cable (USE) shall not be used under the
following conditions or in the following locations:
(1) For interior wiring
(2) For aboveground installations except where USE cable
emerges from the ground and is terminated in an enclosure
at an outdoor location and the cable is protected in
accordance with 300.5(D)
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:42 AM   #8
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:12 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


I belive USE needs to be terminated outside, but if I remember correctly USE2 can go inside?
mechanic30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:21 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


RHH, RHW-2 and USE-2
UL Types RHH, RHW-2 and USE-2 building wires are also used in residential and commercial buildings, industrial plants, utility substations and generating plants for general-purpose, control, power and switchboard wiring. In most cases, these three types
are combined into one cable (one part number) having all three ratings. In this case, the wire is known as an RHH/RHW-2/USE-2 listed wire or cable. This “triple listed” wire can be installed in conduit or other raceways in either 90C wet or 90C dry locations.
mechanic30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:41 AM   #11
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


Do something like this (but PVC) to exit house, then conduit down to 18"-24" below grade.


__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 09:29 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground



How about this?
mechanic30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 09:30 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


No way to under the house?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 09:55 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


Its a block house on a cement slab, and the main box is in the center of the house dropped down from the attic. It would be virtually impossible, unless I dropped it down the inside bedroom wall and drilled out the concrete...
mechanic30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 10:42 AM   #15
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,178
Rewards Points: 2,266
Default

Running use2 direct burial. Need to know what is needed above ground


It might be easier to run SER cable from the panel to an exterior junction box and run the USE from there.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Under ground wire Robbro137 Electrical 1 08-21-2009 06:11 PM
water meter ground wire jumper not needed? windowguy Electrical 13 07-21-2009 06:37 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 05:58 PM
Running a ground wire T Blanco Electrical 3 01-07-2008 04:17 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.