Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2010, 07:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help


I need to run 220 volt supply to 2 outbuildings, the first is about 300 meters from the pole, the second is about 200 meters past that. What size of cable suitable for burial is required for each building keeping in mind the amperage needed for each building to be able to run a welder (60 amp???)

Last edited by stquality; 08-12-2010 at 07:47 PM. Reason: previous did not copy correctly
stquality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help


Where are you located ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,168
Default

Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help


You'd have to have the power supplier to extend their line for that distance.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 09:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
Default

Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help


I found in the chart N. 6 gage copper. But to compensate for voltage drop
a total of 500 feet, and the welding machines, it is advisable to go a step further and install N. 4 copper. the inspector made me install such conductors 36 inches below ground and inside a moisture resistant conduit. I found this in the chart NEC. I hope it will help
Gabriel24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 09:45 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,681
Default

Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabriel24 View Post
I found in the chart N. 6 gage copper. But to compensate for voltage drop
a total of 500 feet, and the welding machines, it is advisable to go a step further and install N. 4 copper. the inspector made me install such conductors 36 inches below ground and inside a moisture resistant conduit. I found this in the chart NEC. I hope it will help
Gabriel, what is your level of experience in this? What chart are you talking about?

Are you aware that he is talking about close to 1400 feet total??? #4cu ain't gonna cut it. Not even close.

I also suspect that he is in Canada since he mentions the distance in meters, so the NEC does not apply here.

Last edited by Speedy Petey; 08-12-2010 at 09:48 PM. Reason: Add the Canada part
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 09:47 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,681
Default

Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by stquality View Post
I need to run 220 volt supply to 2 outbuildings, the first is about 300 meters from the pole, the second is about 200 meters past that. What size of cable suitable for burial is required for each building keeping in mind the amperage needed for each building to be able to run a welder (60 amp???)
Where are you thinking of pulling power from? An existing service or a new dedicated service?

At this distance nothing is going to be cheap or easy. I would STRONGLY suggest you get the power company to extend their primary line close to the first building and put a new 200A service on there. Then extend to the second building from that service.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 10:18 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Where are you thinking of pulling power from? An existing service or a new dedicated service?

At this distance nothing is going to be cheap or easy. I would STRONGLY suggest you get the power company to extend their primary line close to the first building and put a new 200A service on there. Then extend to the second building from that service.


Of course I do agree with speedy Pete this is very long run

The cost of underground conductor can get out of portion plus you will need very large pull boxes to make the splices if you do take that route and I will not run like that fashon so ask the POCO to extend the primay line

If you want to keep 60 amp you will need at least 300mm˛ { 600 KCM } conductor and with that distance it will be cheaper to have POCO to bring the primary much closer to first building then you can run the rest with much shorter distance.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 08:53 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
Default

Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help


REPLY TO A MESSAGE SPEEDY PETEY|
I did not read the 300 meters carefully. I thought it said feet.
For a total of 500 feet, I was right . The charts of the NEC are all the
same. I have 2005 but 2008 also says 4gage copper.
Therefore, I was not wrong.
Gabriel24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 08:59 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabriel24 View Post
REPLY TO A MESSAGE SPEEDY PETEY|
I did not read the 300 meters carefully. I thought it said feet.
For a total of 500 feet, I was right . The charts of the NEC are all the
same. I have 2005 but 2008 also says 4gage copper.
Therefore, I was not wrong.
You were wrong because it is meters
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:09 AM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,681
Default

Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabriel24 View Post
REPLY TO A MESSAGE SPEEDY PETEY|
I did not read the 300 meters carefully. I thought it said feet.
For a total of 500 feet, I was right . The charts of the NEC are all the
same. I have 2005 but 2008 also says 4gage copper.
Therefore, I was not wrong.
There are no "charts" in the NEC, just tables, and they DO NOT give wire sizes that account for voltage drop. That is done by calculation, and is NOT an NEC requirement, it is an NEC suggestion.

I ask again, what is your level of expertise in this area?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:14 AM   #11
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Running underground electric service and am unsure of what wire is needed. Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabriel24 View Post
Therefore, I was not wrong.
I bet you've never been wrong in your life, huh?
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running A New 220 Service Underground toddthor Electrical 14 01-21-2011 03:39 AM
running electric underground sethvel1 Electrical 12 08-03-2010 07:11 PM
Copper wire sizing underground 185ft run 200A service DIYALLTHETIME Electrical 5 03-04-2009 08:22 PM
Service wire thru attic Poot Electrical 23 02-10-2009 07:17 AM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.