Running Underground Cable Across My Yard - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2011, 01:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


I'm adding an outside receptacle to the front of my house and will tap into it to run 120v underground about twenty feet to a weatherproof box. This will be a new 20a circuit. I think I have everything all set with the underground cable that will pass under a concrete walkway (cable in EMT, trench 18" below grade, etc.), except for a question about cable depth near footings. I want to have the 120v box butted up against a block wall, but because of the footing that sticks out 5" from the wall, I can't.

As far as I understand, I must have the cable at 18" until it comes up to the surface. With keeping within code (California), how can I go about getting the box against the wall with the footing in the way? Thanks.

Advertisement

blue sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 01:55 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


Why are you using emt underground?

Are you running conduit all the way to the wall, or just under the walkway?

The cable needs to be protected where come out of the ground, you you can offset the conduit around the footings to get the box to the wall.

You are using uf cable, right?

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 02:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Why are you using emt underground?

Are you running conduit all the way to the wall, or just under the walkway?

The cable needs to be protected where come out of the ground, you you can offset the conduit around the footings to get the box to the wall.

You are using uf cable, right?
jbfan - I thought emt was required for underground, is pvc the better choice? Since the trench is only 18", I'm running conduit all the way to the wall. It sounds like I can put some elbows on the conduit to shape it around the footing to get the box close...that'll solve my problem. I haven't got the cable yet, but I was going to find out the correct cable for this...are you saying uf is what I need?
blue sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 02:14 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


Are you running conduit from the panel to the outside box?

If you run conduit all the way, you can use single wires, #12 thwn, black white and green.
An underground conduit is considered a wet location, and nm-b is not rated for a wet location, but uf is.

You can find some preformed 45's also.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 02:26 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Are you running conduit from the panel to the outside box?

If you run conduit all the way, you can use single wires, #12 thwn, black white and green.
An underground conduit is considered a wet location, and nm-b is not rated for a wet location, but uf is.

You can find some preformed 45's also.
Yes, the sub-panel (not installed yet) will be on the other side of the wall (garage) and I will surface mount the cable on the garage interior. Since this circuit will power two receptacles, plus the underground fed outside box, would it be best to run nm-b to the two receptacles (above ground), then uf once the underground conduit begins?
blue sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 02:41 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


Without seeing your set-up, I would run nmb to each inside receptacle, and from the last one run mnb to and outside junction box.
Connect the pvc, and run single wires to the outside receptacle.

The pull will be much easier then cable.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 02:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


That sounds easy enough. So since pvc is good for this under gound job, when would someone use emt?
blue sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 03:03 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


Quote:
Originally Posted by blue sky View Post
That sounds easy enough. So since pvc is good for this under gound job, when would someone use emt?
Inside.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 04:25 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


Thanks for your help?
blue sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 03:16 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Without seeing your set-up, I would run nmb to each inside receptacle, and from the last one run mnb to and outside junction box.
Connect the pvc, and run single wires to the outside receptacle.

The pull will be much easier then cable.
Here's a couple follow up questions. Under the concrete walkway, there is a 6" pvc pipe that drains water to the front of the house and it is the same 18" depth as my conduit trench. To go around it means digging a lot more trench. Is it an issue to run the conduit directly on top of the 6" pvc drain? Also, do I need to glue the pvc conduit that holds the THHN? Or does it not matter?
blue sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 03:40 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


Run it on top of the drain, and glue the pipe.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 02:35 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running underground cable across my yard


I want to have an RV electrical outlet about 16ft from my house. I plan to install a single 30A/120V recepticle on a post at that location. The feed will start from my main house panel. I understand I need to bury the sched 40 PCV 18" underground.

My problem is I have a walkway in-between that is about 2ft from the house. The walkway has a large PVC pipe underneath for cable runs but it is only about 8" below grade. How should I trench from the house to the sidewalk (2ft run) and from the other side of the side-walk to the post (10ft) ?

I will probably hire an electrician to do the wiring but want to prepare the site beforehand myself.

Thanks,
Brian

Advertisement

Bptsj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size wire to use running underground ms66cadillac Electrical 21 01-13-2011 12:14 PM
running outdoor cable from house to detached shed above ground amakarevic Electrical 2 11-19-2010 03:16 PM
Retaining Wall and Muddy Yard rjschwar Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 02-24-2010 01:55 PM
Underground Cable Question Livewire78 Electrical 7 12-09-2009 01:15 PM
running wire underground for outdoor outlet ponch37300 Electrical 11 06-26-2009 10:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts