Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2009, 04:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: texas gulf coast
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Running Under ground wire


I currently have a wire running from my power supply to my barn/workshop via power poles. I want to try to run it underground, but I am not sure what it the best way to run it and what to run it with.
One plan was to run it through the attic and down through the garage to the east side of the house then underground from there. The whole run is approximatly 200ft
It currently supports a 60A breaker from the service box. what will run there is a 2" well, lights, a stick rod welding machine (an old one), and a couple of power tools. I will not be using the welder and the power tools at the same time.
Any advice on running the wire or the best place to get information?
would running it close to the septic line be a problem?
and would I be able to use any of the existing line?

MAP

^ _______
^ | |
^ | barn |
^ |_____|
_________ ^
| | ^
*| house | ^
|________|

* service poll ^septic line

Robbro137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 05:11 PM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

Running Under ground wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbro137 View Post
..... Any advice on running the wire or the best place to get information?.....
Robbro, Welcome to the Forum.
There are some real experts (not me) on this forum where you will get a lot of good advice.

I would start as the first place to get information would be from your local Building & Safety Department. The local codes vary, so your Office would be the best source to find the requirements in your part of Texas.
.


__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
elecrrical line, underground wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Running Wire Bocolo Electrical 11 01-24-2009 11:56 AM
Ground Clamps Question integlikewhoa Electrical 40 02-28-2008 09:13 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM
Ground Wire Problem ScubaRaven Electrical 11 06-08-2006 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.