Running UF On Outside Of House - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2011, 12:32 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running UF on outside of house


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
I am kind of lost here. Are you wanting to run the wire for a window unit, or are you trying to hook up a central A/C unit.

Window unit in second floor bedroom.

Advertisement

kb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:32 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running UF on outside of house


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Yes. I would recommend a minimum of 3/4" unless you are using UF larger than 12/2, as UF is somewhat unwieldy.

Thank you for all the help. It seems like I have several options to think about.
kb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:33 PM   #18
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,054
Rewards Points: 2,906
Default

Running UF on outside of house


Since the OP wants the receptacle inside I would say it is for a window shaker.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
brric (08-26-2011)
Old 08-26-2011, 12:38 PM   #19
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Running UF on outside of house


Is there any way, you could pull it up from the basement into the attic, instead of running on the outside, through say a plumbing stack chase, then come down inside the wall you want to put it. It would be a neater install, and not sticking out from being on the outside.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 09:02 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,415
Rewards Points: 828
Default

Running UF on outside of house


Are you equiped to drill through 2 courses of brick and plaster?

Advertisement

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 09:20 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 05:45 AM
Anoying sound in house water pipes when sprinklers are ON gante Plumbing 1 06-07-2010 07:04 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 06:54 PM
Running condensation drain into house drain log_doc_rob HVAC 2 09-07-2009 10:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts