Running Romex - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2009, 11:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Running Romex


I have been "mapping" my entire house for a complete rewiring I am going to have to do. One quick question: I will be running some romex to a room that will eventually become a bathroom. Since I am planning on remodeling this room I would like to have some extra 12/2 romex so that I may change the location of receptacles or lights if necessary. Can I leave extra wire in a "loop" on top of the attic? Or should I run the wire along the longest path so that after the remodel I can change the path to a shorter path and this way have the extra romex? Thanks for your time and input.

Advertisement

Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 12:24 AM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Running Romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bocolo View Post
I have been "mapping" my entire house for a complete rewiring I am going to have to do. One quick question: I will be running some romex to a room that will eventually become a bathroom. Since I am planning on remodeling this room I would like to have some extra 12/2 romex so that I may change the location of receptacles or lights if necessary. Can I leave extra wire in a "loop" on top of the attic? Or should I run the wire along the longest path so that after the remodel I can change the path to a shorter path and this way have the extra romex? Thanks for your time and input.
My opinion...

Leave a big old loop and don't connect the wire at either end. Label it clearly "abandoned in place - for future use - disconnected"

Jamie

Advertisement

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 05:28 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Running Romex


Thanks for your time Jamie. Never thought about leaving it "abandoned in place". I think that would be best. Thanks.
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 08:23 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Running Romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bocolo View Post
Thanks for your time Jamie. Never thought about leaving it "abandoned in place". I think that would be best. Thanks.
In fact, its a code requirement.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 08:32 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Running Romex


What I was originally thinking was making all the connections from panel to receptacles and lights in the current room configuration. Once the room was remodeled I think the possibility exists of having to move some lights and receptacles around so I wanted enough cable to be able to make these moves. That is why I asked about "long" runs but the "abadoned cable" idea is probably best. Even better if it is a code requirement. Thanks for your time.
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 10:53 AM   #6
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Running Romex


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bocolo View Post
What I was originally thinking was making all the connections from panel to receptacles and lights in the current room configuration. Once the room was remodeled I think the possibility exists of having to move some lights and receptacles around so I wanted enough cable to be able to make these moves. That is why I asked about "long" runs but the "abadoned cable" idea is probably best. Even better if it is a code requirement. Thanks for your time.
You can run it and hook it all up the way the lights are now, but install a second unconnected abandoned cable up in the ceiling for future use.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 10:58 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Running Romex


Thanks, that would really work well. Thanks for your time.

Advertisement

Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 06:01 PM
Sump pump running as much as 20 times per day Shpigford Plumbing 7 06-23-2008 10:33 AM
running 14-2 romex tibbsy Electrical 4 08-25-2007 09:34 PM
Running Romex up from basement to attic tra999 Electrical 1 07-25-2006 05:21 AM
Running Romex in the attic mdalli Electrical 7 07-06-2006 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts