Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 07:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running a receptacle of a light circuit


I read on here yesterday that an outlet can not be run off a circuit that supplies a light. Is this always correct? I would like to know exactly why. If the light circuit only feeds one light and is 20 amp and 12/2 wires, then would it be okay to do?

paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:54 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Running a receptacle of a light circuit


No, the receptacle can not be used with a switch loop.
As long as you have a hot and a neutral, you are good to go.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 08:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running a receptacle of a light circuit


Okay, I understand. I just want to make sure I do not learn to do electrical work the wrong way in the beginning.
paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 08:12 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,698
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Running a receptacle of a light circuit


Certain circuits like for bathroom, kitchen, dining and laundry receptacle circuits cannot provide power for lighting. What does the circuit you want to tap provide power to?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running a receptacle of a light circuit


Okay, it is in a unfinished basements with bare concrete walls. The circuit i want to tap into feeds six lights ( 60 watt incandescent pull chain) and one smoke detector. All running into the basement, it feeds nothing else. I need to drill through the floor, the base of a built in, through the side of the cabinet, into a fake chimney( 2x 4 framing covered with particle board) then out the front of the particle board into a box for the receptacle. Approximately 12 feet, or 40 feet too the panel box. The circuit feeds a 60 flat screen tv only. Their is presently a receptacle in the cabinet wired from the ceiling so i can not get to that circuit. The tv will draw maybe an amp. I originally wanted to run from the panel but it is full. My electrician was the one that said to tap the light circuit. He retired a few years ago so I always double check him against someone with a current license.
paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:34 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,698
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Running a receptacle of a light circuit


That circuit sounds fine.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:46 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,859
Rewards Points: 2,512
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Running a receptacle of a light circuit


Unfinished basement with bare concrete walls requires GFCI receptacles.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:27 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Running a receptacle of a light circuit


This circuit goes through the floor, up into the first floor, does that then require a gfi?
paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:28 AM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,859
Rewards Points: 2,512
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Running a receptacle of a light circuit


The receptacles on the unfinished basement concrete wall must be GFCI.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
light receptacle vs. switch test device amakarevic Electrical 5 03-23-2012 05:15 PM
confusion with track light stephenbishop Electrical 7 03-10-2012 01:37 PM
Running 50 Amp 250 Volt Circuit 451stroker Electrical 8 12-07-2011 07:10 PM
Stairway light powered from GFCI circuit? jeh179 Electrical 10 03-23-2011 08:57 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.