Running Power Outdoor To Subpanel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2010, 11:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NW Chicago burbs
Posts: 383
Rewards Points: 250
Default

running power outdoor to subpanel


I am planning on having a sub panel installed in my garage. My main panel is on the back of my house and as far from the garage as it can be. Would it be ok to run the line from the main panel out doors? My 220 air conditioner line is outdoors about 6 inches off the ground and runs along the same path. I am thinking it would be easier to do this than snake a line up through the wall, through the attic, and then backdown the garage wall.

Advertisement

beerdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 11:52 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

running power outdoor to subpanel


Either way is fine. If you run it outside you need to use conduit and wires rated for wet locations.
In my opinion running it the hard way is the best way. Up - Over - Down. This way you can use a cable if you like.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 12:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NW Chicago burbs
Posts: 383
Rewards Points: 250
Default

running power outdoor to subpanel


I hear ya. Local codes require I have to use conduit in my county. I plan on having an electrician do it and having it inspected. I guess I will see what the electrician says. I have not talked ot anyone yet.
beerdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 07:42 PM
Recurring Power Oddities - Regular Schedule DamienChaos Electrical 16 10-21-2009 08:45 PM
Subpanel for now, convert to 2nd main panel later? abmiller67 Electrical 2 08-27-2009 02:44 PM
Can I give 12V DC to power inverter through PC Power supply? inverter General DIY Discussions 3 07-06-2009 10:38 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts