Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2011, 12:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

Running power to garden shed


I want to run power to my garden shed and have become confused while exploring options. I'd prefer to do this to code, and after running some ideas found in the family Handyman magazine past an electrician here (Canada) I was advised that the magazine was not to Canadian code. The article suggested running RMC 6" underground was legal. The electrician I spoke to said 18" minimum and only PVC was permitted.

So the basic idea of what I'd like to do is:

Dedicated circuit 30A or 40A to shed (approx 30ft)

PVC conduit from house, along fence, to shed.

Supply 240v electric heater and have one or two GFCI 120V circuits for tools

3-way porch light on the shed that can be switched on from house.
- Can this be branched from an existing house circuit? (insinkerator circuit from under kitchen sink for example - this is the closest exit point from house to fence, to shed.
- can the 12/3 be in the same PVC conduit as that supplying the sub panel?

I only have 5 spots left on my home panel and am wondering if this is all possible, and looking for feedback or suggestions.

Thanks and cheers!

Tryvidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 06:49 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,861
Default

Running power to garden shed


It is recommended to power the 3 way light circuit from the shed subpanel and run the extra wires for the main house switch back from there. The switch wires can share the conduit with the feed wires.

Will take two slots of your breaker panel.

With a heater out there I suggest the 40 amp 120/240 volt feed (four 8 gauge wires in red, black, white, green) or heavier. Many experts recommend 6 gauge or heavier feed wires (60 amp breakers) to a detached garage or shed that may be used as a workshop.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-27-2011 at 06:54 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 01:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Default

Running power to garden shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ
It is recommended to power the 3 way light circuit from the shed subpanel and run the extra wires for the main house switch back from there. The switch wires can share the conduit with the feed wires.

Will take two slots of your breaker panel.

With a heater out there I suggest the 40 amp 120/240 volt feed (four 8 gauge wires in red, black, white, green) or heavier. Many experts recommend 6 gauge or heavier feed wires (60 amp breakers) to a detached garage or shed that may be used as a workshop.
Home Depot electrician recommended only 8/3 NMWU Black for underground portion in 1-1/4" PVC conduit. I asked if I could use loose wire but doesn't sound like it.

So 8/4 plus ground is best for 40A?
Tryvidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 02:16 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,398
Default

Running power to garden shed


Someone more familiar with the CEC should be stopping by. In the meantime, it would be helpful if you updated your profile to include your location. The rules differ between areas and countries.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 02:19 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,936
Default

Running power to garden shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tryvidy View Post


Home Depot electrician
Now that is an oxymoron

You most certainly can use individual conductors in PVC conduit.

THWN rated insulation
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 03:51 PM   #6
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 697
Default

Running power to garden shed


and in the US atleast, you CANT use type NM cable in conduit outside/wet locations
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 04:13 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24
Default

Running power to garden shed


Just found a great link from a town in Alberta that answered all my questions and gave some good tips!

http://www.airdrie.ca/building_devel...or_garages.pdf

Tryvidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have any more electrical service capacity? (Power for Shed) Magnus357 Electrical 7 10-13-2012 08:52 AM
running wire for 50A subpanel in a detached shed amakarevic Electrical 10 03-17-2011 05:04 PM
Feeder line from detatched garage to garden shed. abeeline Electrical 1 09-11-2010 05:25 PM
underground conduit to power up a garden shed HappyHome Electrical 5 08-11-2010 03:46 PM
Running a generator for power outages tropic home Electrical 5 12-04-2006 08:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.