Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2011, 07:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

running power to detached garage


I want to run power to my detached garage. Its about 100 ft from the breaker box in the house, but there is also a power pole about 10 ft the garage. If I could get the power compant to come out and run power to the garage im sure all the lights and outlets will have to be ran and the box will have to be set up...which means ill also need an inspection. Would it be cheaper to have someone come in and wire it up since I have no idea what code is?

Roundeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,351
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

running power to detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roundeye View Post
I want to run power to my detached garage. Its about 100 ft from the breaker box in the house, but there is also a power pole about 10 ft the garage. If I could get the power compant to come out and run power to the garage im sure all the lights and outlets will have to be ran and the box will have to be set up...which means ill also need an inspection. Would it be cheaper to have someone come in and wire it up since I have no idea what code is?
I'm pondering a similar setup meself. Is the transformer for your house also located on the pole? If you choose to let the power company run the service from that pole they will install another meter for your garage. Just be aware of extra meter and possible minimum electricity usage charges per month. A friend who has 2 meters started out with no extra charges, then $15, and now has increased to $25 per month.

zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 09:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

running power to detached garage


Looks like ill run a 100 amp breaker from the main panel to a sub panel in the garage. Its 85 to 100 ft to the garage, what wire would I need ? Does it matter if I use conduit or pvc and how deep should it be buried? I want to run 3 or 4 flourescent lights, prolly bout 4 outlets and a 220 outlet for an air compressor.
Roundeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 09:45 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

running power to detached garage


This is a subject that has been beaten to death on here. Do a search for sub-panels, garage, and you will find plenty of info. The only thing that would stop you from running 100 amp, is what the load is already at the home. You really need to do a load calculation, before just hooking up another structure into the mix.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
J. V. (11-30-2011)
Old 11-29-2011, 09:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,351
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

running power to detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roundeye View Post
Looks like ill run a 100 amp breaker from the main panel to a sub panel in the garage. Its 85 to 100 ft to the garage, what wire would I need ? Does it matter if I use conduit or pvc and how deep should it be buried? I want to run 3 or 4 flourescent lights, prolly bout 4 outlets and a 220 outlet for an air compressor.
Someone else will need to chime in on your wire size and they are plenty of wire calculators online as well. Use electrical grade conduit (called PVC also I think) and check with your local codes on how deep to bury it.

And do as gregzoll suggested.

Last edited by zappa; 11-29-2011 at 09:52 PM. Reason: added info
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 10:25 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

running power to detached garage


Zappa, they could get away with #10 on a 30 amp circuit, unless the compressor warrants the need for 30 to 40 amps just for it, then it should just be a 60 amp circuit. No need to go with a 100 amp for just a garage, unless they are running a full blown office out there, or conditioning the space for heat & air, due to they have a restored car in museum condition.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 11:03 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,351
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

running power to detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Zappa, they could get away with #10 on a 30 amp circuit, unless the compressor warrants the need for 30 to 40 amps just for it, then it should just be a 60 amp circuit. No need to go with a 100 amp for just a garage, unless they are running a full blown office out there, or conditioning the space for heat & air, due to they have a restored car in museum condition.
True...true. But then then you have lazy type folk like me who can't stand to do the same work twice. I would rather spend the extra money and go larger than what I need for things that may change in the future. Don't ask me how I learned this over the years.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 12:34 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

running power to detached garage


I have plenty of space to add 100 amp breaker, who ever installed the central air and heat put too small of units in and I don't use them anymore...so that gives me room right there.
Roundeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 12:55 AM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

running power to detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roundeye View Post
I have plenty of space to add 100 amp breaker, who ever installed the central air and heat put too small of units in and I don't use them anymore...so that gives me room right there.
Again, you do not need 100 amp service out there. As for the HVAC, how did you determine that they were too small. Did you look at the plate, or just pull it out of the wind?

You really need to do a load calculation, before just doing something that could cause you problems in the long term, such as with your local city/village, when it comes to pulling a permit. Some places will also question why you want to put in 100 amp service in a outbuilding, and in turn, your property taxes go up and assessment changes, due to they think that you are running a business in it.

For a few lights, some 120 volt outlets, and a 220v compressor, you can get by with a 30 amp service, 60 if you plan on putting in a welder. 220v compressors are more efficient, but most will do fine on a 20 amp circuit, with the exception of the commercial large heavy duty high pressure ones, and that is a different story.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 02:52 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

running power to detached garage


Nope didn't just pull it out of thin air...had an hvac pro in when the hvac system wouldn't heat and cool the house...just bought the house....the furnace is 10kw which wont heat a n 1100 sq ft house with 9the ft ceilings. If I don't need 100 amp service that's even better.
Roundeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 10:05 AM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

running power to detached garage


Depending on the electric load that is already there, and if you already have 100 amp service, you need to do a load calculation, to determine what extra load you can add.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help planning an electrical service upgrade to detached garage PaulTurner Electrical 2 04-05-2011 04:43 PM
Painting Detached Garage Exterior bsmith95610 Painting 3 02-15-2011 07:52 PM
Standby generator connected via detached garage? vsheetz Electrical 22 04-04-2009 03:44 AM
Subpanel - detached garage without a floor SAS Electrical 12 03-05-2009 12:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.