Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2009, 08:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Share |
Default

Running power to barn, need help.


In my house I have a 200 amp breaker service. There's a pump house about 50 feet from the house that has a 30 amp fused box for the pump. I want to run electric to a barn that's about 60 feet from the pump house. For now I've been using a 100 ft. extension cord to run like a battery charger light and tried to run my compressor off it and blew the 30 amp fuse. How can I wire it so I have enough juice to run lights, charger, compressor etc? Can I put a 30 amp breaker box in the barn run fron the wires going into the pump house? To run from the house to the barn would be a pain in the butt.

Bearcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Running power to barn, need help.


What is the rating on the compressor?
On the pump?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:15 PM   #3
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 351
Default

Running power to barn, need help.


With the information provided, there is a good chance that the circuit feeding the pump might be nearly maxed out with just the pump, let alone overburdening it with the compressor. Even smaller compressors can draw close to 15 amps. Running a compressor on a long extension cord is never a good idea either.

I would probably leave the pump circuit alone, and run a new feeder to a small sub panel in your barn. It might be a pain but it is the right thing to do in the long run.

I also question the integrity of the wiring inside the pump house, a 120 volt standard receptacle shouldn't be on a 30 A circuit.

Question: What is the size and type of wire feeding the pump house? Number of wires? What size breaker is protecting it at the source house) end?
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:15 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Running power to barn, need help.


It's a 5hp but need to check the rating.
Bearcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:19 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Running power to barn, need help.


Are you talkin about running from the 200 amp service in the house to like a 30 amp breaker box in the barn? Cause I do have a 30 breaker box I could use. I'll have to check the wires going to the pump house. Checked and looks like the comp is 20 amps.
Bearcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:23 PM   #6
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 351
Default

Running power to barn, need help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearcamp View Post
Are you talkin about running from the 200 amp service in the house to like a 30 amp breaker box in the barn? Cause I do have a 30 breaker box I could use. I'll have to check the wires going to the pump house.
Yes. If the pump motor is 5 HP that pump circuit is pretty much maxed out.

How much power do you plan on using in the barn? Just the compressor, small power tools, and lights?
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Running power to barn, need help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearcamp View Post
It's a 5hp but need to check the rating.
The NEC table puts the current at 28A at 230v which I think is a worst case.
More likely it is 1.2x5x746/230v = 19A.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 09:36 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Running power to barn, need help.


I plan on using lights, comp and small tools maybe at the same time.

Bearcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I've lost power at my barn Jim Owens Electrical 11 10-11-2008 10:58 PM
Running Power to a horse barn Lusco Electrical 3 04-26-2008 03:34 PM
Running Power to new Barn cmaclean Electrical 10 01-15-2008 11:03 AM
help running electricity to barn kavik001 Electrical 10 09-10-2007 04:45 PM
Running a generator for power outages tropic home Electrical 5 12-04-2006 08:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.