Running A Pipe Between Basement & Attic - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2008, 05:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 325
Rewards Points: 296
Default

Running a pipe between basement & attic


I saw somewhere stating to install a pipe from ones basement into their attic so in the future they can easily pull wires in the pipe to go from basement to attic. Is that a good idea or are there codes/etc to doing that (like it must be metal or it's not allowed)?

I got a 1" gray plastic pipe in the electrical isle and did it (my guess it's outdoor plastic conduit), then ran three 12ga wires in it. Now I'm thinking maybe I'm not supposed to do that... maybe the wires can overheat in the tube, or I created a channel for a fire to quickly spread up into my attic and may have done something dumb. Thoughts?

Advertisement

Piedmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 05:20 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Running a pipe between basement & attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Piedmont View Post
I saw somewhere stating to install a pipe from ones basement into their attic so in the future they can easily pull wires in the pipe to go from basement to attic. Is that a good idea or are there codes/etc to doing that (like it must be metal or it's not allowed)?

I got a 1" gray plastic pipes in the electrical isle and did it, then ran three 12ga wires in it. Now I'm thinking maybe I'm not supposed to do that... maybe the wires can overheat in the tube, or I created a channel for a fire to quickly spread up into my attic. Thoughts?

I do it on every house I wire, but there are some drawbacks to it, one is derating kicks in after 9 Current carrying conductors are installed, and yes you probably want to seal the pipes off, I just use duct seal...

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 07:11 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Running a pipe between basement & attic


I think it is a great idea to do that. I see it done in a lot of homes. I suggest labeling both ends of the pipe as a wire chase so a future homeowner doesn't mistake it for a plumbing vent!
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 08:17 PM   #4
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Running a pipe between basement & attic


Knowing I was going to rewire my entire 2nd floor, I ran 4-3/4" runs of emt from the basement to the attic space for this same reason. It has come in really handy.
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 11:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,796
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Running a pipe between basement & attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Piedmont View Post
I saw somewhere stating to install a pipe from ones basement into their attic so in the future they can easily pull wires in the pipe to go from basement to attic. Is that a good idea or are there codes/etc to doing that (like it must be metal or it's not allowed)?

I got a 1" gray plastic pipe in the electrical isle and did it (my guess it's outdoor plastic conduit), then ran three 12ga wires in it. Now I'm thinking maybe I'm not supposed to do that... maybe the wires can overheat in the tube, or I created a channel for a fire to quickly spread up into my attic and may have done something dumb. Thoughts?
When I had my house built, I paid extra to have a conduit run from basement to attic. It was a corrugated conduit. Not sure if I really needed it since I ran structured wiring throughout the house one weekend before the drywall was put up. It was a good selling point when I sold the house though.
handy man88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to support 15th of ABS pipe irishtimes101 Plumbing 3 09-01-2006 12:09 PM
Running Romex up from basement to attic tra999 Electrical 1 07-25-2006 05:21 AM
Running Romex in the attic mdalli Electrical 7 07-06-2006 06:35 PM
running ethernet through attic null_pointer_us Building & Construction 3 05-15-2006 06:08 PM
Air duck from basement to the attic MageMinds HVAC 2 04-26-2006 01:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts