Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2012, 07:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


I am moving our fridge into our old pantry and need to install an outlet. I am thinking about adding a new 20 a breaker, runing the wire to a new outlet and installing it in the wall in the old pantry area. Couple of questions I have. One, what is the best way to find where to drill in the basement to run the line up through the floor to the wall? Two, should I open the wall more and put in an electrical box that attaches to the stud or use a remodel box? Anyone help on installing a breaker also and what is the best wire to use also?

bowanna03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:28 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


Usually doing a lot of measuring helps and looking at what is above the basement heater vents gas lines water lines drain pipes.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:52 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


There are remodel boxes that screw to the studs. Look for Smartbox.

Along with measuring from know items you can drill a small hole at the baseboard into the basement. This will show the face of the wall, now just measure about 2" back and you should be in the wall cavity.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (03-01-2012)
Old 03-01-2012, 07:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


Where can you get the smartboxes from?
Thanks for the info on finding the spot to drill for
bowanna03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 08:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
There are remodel boxes that screw to the studs. Look for Smartbox.

Along with measuring from know items you can drill a small hole at the baseboard into the basement. This will show the face of the wall, now just measure about 2" back and you should be in the wall cavity.

Jim Port gave the best advice. If you have the ability to remove the baseboard at that location you could drill right along the wall, then put the baseboard back after you determine the location...if not, follow Jim's advice.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 08:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,332
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


jim has the low down on this install take your time measure,measure before to cut measure again...smartbox...awesome....
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 08:43 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


A hole just small enough to stick a colored wire through that can be seen in the basement. Also mark how far you are from framing in the wall. You don't want to drill into a 2x4 or hit a framing nail.

I just put our fridge on it's own circuit because we had a gfci trip once and almost cause a mess.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.

Last edited by rrolleston; 03-01-2012 at 08:49 PM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 03:36 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,250
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


Moving out of kitchen might get you into arc fault breaker required circuits.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:49 AM   #9
Member
 
Ravenworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 598
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Also mark how far you are from framing in the wall. You don't want to drill into a 2x4 or hit a framing nail.
Before I cut the hole for a work box I have found a quick way to find obstructions in walls.
What I have found to be a sure fire way test this is to take a piece of wire and bend a 90 in it. Drill a small hole in wall where you want the box and spin the wire,if you hit a stud then you know which way you need to adjust the hole.
I learned this the first time I cut a hole and landed in the middle of a stud,I know there are other ways such a measuring and stud finders but I am lazy.
Ravenworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:54 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenworks View Post
Before I cut the hole for a work box I have found a quick way to find obstructions in walls.
What I have found to be a sure fire way test this is to take a piece of wire and bend a 90 in it. Drill a small hole in wall where you want the box and spin the wire,if you hit a stud then you know which way you need to adjust the hole.
I learned this the first time I cut a hole and landed in the middle of a stud,I know there are other ways such a measuring and stud finders but I am lazy.

you stole my thunder!
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:58 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


I use a square hole saw in my drill, it makes a perfect square hole every time.

Writer’s information is for discussion purpose only and should be confirmed by an independent source.
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 09:18 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


When you cut out the hole for the new box, always make the horizontal cut first. This way if you hit a stud you can adjust. As far as where to drill your hole to the basement, the other posts were right on. I would like to add that somtimes you can look at the structure underneath and determine where the wall is based on the framing.
JRigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:03 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Running new oulet for fridge


Don't forget to look for treasure inside the wall.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound of Water Running in Pipes rpishotti Plumbing 4 12-06-2010 12:09 AM
Basement *VENTING* AND running entire new drain lines. 57_Hemi Plumbing 6 09-30-2010 09:00 PM
Running water sound in the wall? cpourfarid Introductions 2 09-26-2010 09:13 PM
Why is Inducer Fan Running? artbuc HVAC 3 07-31-2010 09:39 AM
taco 700 constantly running.... drizzyboy HVAC 3 11-27-2007 07:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.