Running New EMT Conduits From The Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2014, 03:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 859
Rewards Points: 694
Default

running new EMT conduits from the panel


Going to be running new EMT conduits from the panel to the kitchen.

Don't see a big deal with that...however, I am wondering how to feed conductors into or from the panel. As I pull the conductors through, I don't want any loose wire or metal fishtape to accidentally bounce into anything live I'm the panel box. I can turn the main breakers off but still the big service wires and where they screw into.

What are the safety procedure to follow? Tape all conductor ends I am pulling...do I tape a garbage bag over stuff inside the panel? Do I connect an elbow to extend the line outward of the panel box? Do I get my in-laws to do this?

Advertisement

miamicuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 09:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 858
Rewards Points: 732
Default

running new EMT conduits from the panel


Use fiberglass fish tape. Pull wires to the panel with spools at far end. That way you see wires emerge into panel and you can pull a few more feet for hookups. Have a helper feed wires into the far box so no kinks or tangles.

Advertisement

curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 07:28 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

running new EMT conduits from the panel


Pulling a fishtape (much less metal) into a live panel is bad practice. It is just asking for problems. Feed the wire from the panel side of the run.

Or...

Install a JBox near the panel, pull the majority of the run to the JBox. Then you can push the wire (only) into the panel.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 08:29 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,240
Rewards Points: 1,594
Default

running new EMT conduits from the panel


If your "ascared" pulling into or from the panel, you can put cardboard here and/or there.

just a thought
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power new 200amp panel as temporary subpanel from existing 100amp main panel CapeCod153 Electrical 4 03-21-2013 09:31 PM
changing to 200 amp service mbaldwin Electrical 3 03-29-2012 09:00 AM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 03:09 AM
Help/Suggestions Running Cat5e Acroos Room To New Panel darveaux Electrical 6 02-28-2011 03:12 AM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 01:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts