Running New Curcuit To Outdoor Application? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2009, 10:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running new curcuit to outdoor application?


My wife and I would like to put water feature, a waterfall wth a small pond, on the side of our house. I know that at a minimum I will need an outlet for the pump and that I would like to have some lights in the set up for viewing at night.

As I'm planning this, my thought was that this could be done with a new 20amp circuit however it appears the main panel is full, no empty slots.

Would this require the installation of a sub panel or does anyone have some diferent thoughts or experience?

Thanks

Advertisement

Bigman610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 11:05 PM   #2
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Running new curcuit to outdoor application?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigman610 View Post
My wife and I would like to put water feature, a waterfall wth a small pond, on the side of our house. I know that at a minimum I will need an outlet for the pump and that I would like to have some lights in the set up for viewing at night.

As I'm planning this, my thought was that this could be done with a new 20amp circuit however it appears the main panel is full, no empty slots.

Would this require the installation of a sub panel or does anyone have some diferent thoughts or experience?

Thanks
Could use some minis in place of a regular breaker. I dont really like them but its a thought.

Advertisement

ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 12:39 AM   #3
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Running new curcuit to outdoor application?


If you panel allows them that is. You can't use a twin breaker in a newer 40 slot panel.

You could extend an existing lightly loaded circuit, but you need to pick one that is not a special purpose one defined in the NEC.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:23 AM   #4
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Running new curcuit to outdoor application?


At the panel cover you should find the number of circuits it allows. might sa something like 30/42 meaning 30 full size but 6 spaces can be used for minis. These are breakers that allow two circuits for one 1" space. But you may also consider using a 12/3 UF cable to the pond, so the lights can be controlled b a switch and the pond is separate.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 08:32 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running new curcuit to outdoor application?


Thank you for the thoughts. I like Bob's suggestion to run 12/3 and have the lights on a switch. I looked at the panel again and can't pick out anything showing the number of circuits allowed. I'm going to put some feelers out and get a few quotes to have the project done correctly, assuming the damage "$$" won't be too bad. Thanks again.
Bigman610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
constant running water sound gmk2008 Plumbing 9 11-11-2008 09:22 PM
Sump pump running as much as 20 times per day Shpigford Plumbing 7 06-23-2008 10:33 AM
Freedom 90 furnance not running reliably from generator jrielsky HVAC 6 02-12-2008 02:48 PM
taco 700 constantly running.... drizzyboy HVAC 3 11-27-2007 08:03 AM
Running a generator for power outages tropic home Electrical 5 12-04-2006 09:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts