Running A New Circuit For Ceiling Fixtures Through Existing Walls/ceilings - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2008, 01:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running a new circuit for ceiling fixtures through existing walls/ceilings


I'm a competent DIYer and a quick study, but mostly a newbie when it comes to electrical stuff. I've got two projects for which I got astronomical estimates from electricians; I'd like to give them a go myself to save a few shekels.

I need to run a fresh circuit through an unfinished section of basement, up through a wall, into the ceiling above the main floor of my home to service a ceiling fan and a half dozen remodel can lights. The line to my ceiling fan will need to run for about 30 feet inside the joist bay before taking a left turn through a joist. Is it okay to leave the electrical wire resting on top of the lathe and plaster ceiling or must I pop holes in the ceiling every few feet to staple the wire to the joists?

The ceiling fan will go in where there's currently a light fixture serviced by ungrounded knob and tube wiring (house was built in '28). I intend to junk the old ceiling fixture and disconnect the knob and tube to it before running modern wire to the ceiling fan. Once I do this, I will still have a live knob and tube circuit going to the wall switch that controlled the old light fixture. I can't fully decommission that knob and tube line since it still powers a couple of wall outlets. Can I simply cap the knob and tube wiring that led to the old light fixture's wall switch, wrap it with electrical tape and leave it inside the wall? I don't see how else to deal with it.

Thanks in advance for the help any of you can offer!

Advertisement

beezlebub03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 08:28 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Running a new circuit for ceiling fixtures through existing walls/ceilings


It is OK to leave wire loose in an existing wall/ceiling cavity. No need to pop holes to staple.
You can not leave live wires inside the wall capped. They must be in a box with a cover that is accessible.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 12:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running a new circuit for ceiling fixtures through existing walls/ceilings


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
It is OK to leave wire loose in an existing wall/ceiling cavity. No need to pop holes to staple.
You can not leave live wires inside the wall capped. They must be in a box with a cover that is accessible.
Joed, thanks a million. Is it okay to cap the knob and tube wires and leave them unattached within the box to the switch? The switch, of course, will be connected to my new wiring. I wondered if this was okay since the capped, disconnected old wires and the new wires will all be behind a switch plate.
beezlebub03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 01:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Running a new circuit for ceiling fixtures through existing walls/ceilings


Beezlebub03-

Thanks for the detailed question.

Joed-

Thanks for the clear answer.

This is the kind of informtion newbies like me appreciate!!!
Cyndi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 03:43 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Running a new circuit for ceiling fixtures through existing walls/ceilings


I think you are fine to leave the old wires in the same box as the new ones.
The best solution is to find the other end of the wrres and cut them of at the source. But that is very often not possible with knob and tube.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 05:22 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Running a new circuit for ceiling fixtures through existing walls/ceilings


There is no problem having the old wires (live or not) terminated in wire nuts in the same box with the switch and the new wiring.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 08:49 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running a new circuit for ceiling fixtures through existing walls/ceilings


You guys rock. Thanks.

Advertisement

beezlebub03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 04:25 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Adding a receptacle to existing circuit dekohl Electrical 3 09-10-2007 02:46 PM
add a second light to an existing 3 way switch circuit djohns10 Electrical 6 03-02-2007 08:16 PM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 01:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts