Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2008, 09:09 AM   #1
drh
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 45
Share |
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


Hi guys,

Quick question to confirm my sanity here - we're in the process of pricing out some knob and tube replacement in our home, and one electrician we had pricing the job suggested something peculiar.

He suggested that rather than fishing wiring up through walls, he prefers to bore holes in the exterior wall and run the wiring to the second floor on the OUTSIDE of the home, boring back in on the second level.

This seems ludicrous to me, to have electrical wiring runs on either side of our home, on the exterior. Not to mention an unsightly mess.

Was I correct in thanking this guy for his time, and quickly showing him the door? I mean, would something like even pass code?

Dan

drh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 09:16 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,534
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


It might pass code, but it shows the electrician is lazy and not concerned with how his work may look. The only time such a scenario should be considered is if the structure is not wood framed and there are no cavities to fish the wire through.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 04:31 PM   #3
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


This breaks the "insulation envelope" that is so necessary in this day of high utilities- looks unsightly and should only be used as a very last resort after all other possibilities have been exhausted!
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?

Last edited by handyman78; 02-15-2008 at 04:38 PM.
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 06:29 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,392
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


The wire would need to be outdoor rated for wet location.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 09:44 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The wire would need to be outdoor rated for wet location.
Hopefully the guy is suggesting the wire be run through conduit (like perhaps conduit used for service entrance... the 2-3" stuff).
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 09:54 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HooKooDooKu View Post
Hopefully the guy is suggesting the wire be run through conduit (like perhaps conduit used for service entrance... the 2-3" stuff).
It would not matter. If you run wire wire outside in conduit, it must be rated for a wet location
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 10:26 PM   #7
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


Many times it is easier to run a single piece of conduit to the attic with a few circuits and branch off of them from above. It's what I did at my friend's place to replace his K&T. Depending on the amount of circuits, you wouldn't need better than a 3/4". Incidently, MOST THHN wire is also THWN rated. You wouldn't need to run the romex through the conduit. That would just be a waste.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 11:27 PM   #8
hms
Remodeling contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 45
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


find someone to do it the right way and more importantly to your satisfaction.
hms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 12:15 PM   #9
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


It is not uncommon to run ONE conduit up to the second level or completly up to the attic, and use it to pull feeder lines through, then wire the upper story from the attic above. This is much more economical than fishing 10 or 15 wires up throught two story walls, and will not be visually objectionable if run neatly. But if he was talking about running an exterior conduit to each device he needed to feed, you were indeed best served by sending him down the street.
troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 02:15 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


You CAN run (the proper type of) cable on the outside of your house.....but I wouldn't do it.


Asthetics are important to me.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 04:41 PM   #11
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 749
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


I agree with Goose and 220.

Where I live, I've seen several instances of conduit being run up to the attic on the exterior of the house in which several circuits are pulled that eventually fan out to various things on the second (or top) floor. Provided that the correct materials are used, there is nothing wrong with this. If this was his approach then I wouldn't necesarily say that it was bad. On the other hand, if he's thinking of running several conduits, then I'd agree that he's probably not the best.

As 220 mentioned though, aesthetics are a big issue with this type of approach, especially if this is your house. You'd be the ultimate judge of whether it'd be unsightly.

Take care,
Jimmy
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 04:52 PM   #12
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


If it came down to it, I believe repairing a wall somewhere inside the building if that is what it took to run a large conduit for all the branch circuits up to the attic, rather than running it on the outside.

Don;t forget to derate the conductors!!!!!!
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 06:27 PM   #13
drh
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 45
Default

Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home?


Thanks to everyone who responded. This is precisely the type of forum and exchange that helps us newbies make the right decision - and for that I am truly grateful.

drh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sweating windows big daddy-o General DIY Discussions 15 01-06-2008 02:41 PM
miller mobile home furnace wont keep running jb9270 HVAC 4 01-30-2007 10:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.