Running Multiple Wires - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2012, 12:01 PM   #1
EIT/DIY'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western NY
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Running multiple wires


I have about 9 romex wires that I will need to run in one tight area (between two studs).

Two questions:

1) Is it OK for me to stack two wires and fasten them with the same staple to the studs?

2) Are there any products available to run and fasten these in a neat and orderly fashion? It will be a mix of 12 and 14 ga copper romex.

Advertisement

Lattimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 12:15 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,034
Rewards Points: 2,866
Default

Running multiple wires


Try a 3M Stak-it. Gardner-Bender and Arlington also make the same thing.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 12:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Running multiple wires


Well what I would suggest is nail in an empty staple and zip-tie all the wires to the staple but leave it nice and loose so there not tight around each other that way the heat can dissipate
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 12:16 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,240
Rewards Points: 2,390
Default

Running multiple wires


http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 12:18 PM   #5
EIT/DIY'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western NY
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Running multiple wires


Perfect. Thanks guys!
Lattimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 12:41 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,240
Rewards Points: 2,390
Default

Running multiple wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Well what I would suggest is nail in an empty staple and zip-tie all the wires to the staple but leave it nice and loose so there not tight around each other that way the heat can dissipate
An inspector might call you on it.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-04-2012)
Old 01-04-2012, 12:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Running multiple wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles

An inspector might call you on it.
Possible but they usually don't give me an issue.

Advertisement

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running wires for wall heater Roundeye Electrical 2 09-17-2011 04:57 PM
Wires running into receptacle and switch boxes Abs777 Electrical 6 04-28-2010 01:50 PM
Running Wires in new construction bfan781 Electrical 6 03-13-2010 12:50 AM
Running wires across bottom of joists WaldenL Electrical 8 01-25-2009 04:00 PM
running wires in a conduit analogmusicman Electrical 50 07-13-2008 09:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts