Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2006, 07:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Running a generator for power outages


I want to wire my house so it can be run of a generator when there is a power outage here in Costa Rica. I will be purchasing a 5000W Coleman Powermate for the purpose. Is it as simple as throwing the main power switch to isolate the house and running 220 to the house from the generator? I would have a #6 (?) cord that can be run outside to the generator during these outages. Ideally I would like to have the generator running at my workshop which is 60' from the house. The main switch may be in the workshop (power is just being run out to my property), but if it's in the house and the generator is at the shop what happens will happen with the breaker for the shop at the main box? I will be running 220 to the shop in any case for my welder, so maybe the breaker will be big enough. Hope I'm not way out there with my thoughts. All info is appreciated.

tropic home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 09:29 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Running a generator for power outages


ABSOLUTELY NOT. You cannot simply backfeed the panel/service.

You need either a transfer panel, main transfer switch, or main breaker interlock. These are to prevent power from backfeeding the utility lines.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 04:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running a generator for power outages


The way they run power here, there is a throw switch at the line coming in that shuts off power before it reaches the main breaker box, will this not prevent the backfeed to the utility lines? If so does the rest sound right?
tropic home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 06:00 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,574
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Running a generator for power outages


The generator MUST be connected so that is IMPOSSIBLE for the generator to backfeed the power lines. Having to remember to turn off the main disconnect does not count. It MUST be somehow interlocked to make it IMPOSSIBLE.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 06:07 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Running a generator for power outages


Is there a two way throw switch that one way will connect mainline and the other way connect alternate power?
tropic home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 08:22 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Running a generator for power outages


Yes, as I said, either a main transfer switch, a main breaker interlock, or a transfer panel.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running CSST outside to grill on deck... tigerbalm2424 HVAC 6 11-06-2008 10:07 PM
Freedom 90 furnance not running reliably from generator jrielsky HVAC 6 02-12-2008 01:48 PM
Running New Coax modena Home Theater 3 07-18-2007 01:18 AM
Running Romex up from basement to attic tra999 Electrical 1 07-25-2006 04:21 AM
running ethernet through attic null_pointer_us Building & Construction 3 05-15-2006 05:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.