Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2007, 05:19 PM   #1
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,767
Share |
Default

Running electricity to fireplace.


I'm adding an outlet in the back of my fireplace for a fireplace insert. The easiest access for power is if I drill a hole in the brick in the basement and run the wire up through the ash door which is on the floor in the back of the fireplace.
I was planning on using a junction box over the hole that I drilled so that it looks like a cleaner installation. The wire will only pass through the j-box. It will look like a dead end but the wire will come out the back side of the j-box. EMT will be used between this junction box and the feed junction box with NM or bx running in the conduit. Would I need a fitting on the backside of the j-box?
Does this sound like a good plan?

The easier idea is to just run bx off the closest j-box and run through a hole in the chimeny and up and through the ash door. If I opt for this route, do I need to protect the wire at entry point (drilled hole) of the chimney?

TIA
Cliff

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 06:12 PM   #2
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Running electricity to fireplace.


No need to protect a cable assembly coming through brick, in my opinion. You will definitely need a connector for your EMT coming out of the back of the JB. I am assuming ( can't see the fireplace set up ) that common sense in being applied here and none of the wiring is "in the line of fire " where it may get hot.

Andy

Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 06:22 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Running electricity to fireplace.


The last insert I did had a j-box already installed so all you had to do was supply power, I personally would use a piece of MC type cable if running it up the cleanout...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 06:31 PM   #4
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,767
Default

Running electricity to fireplace.


Thanks Andy,
If I need a connector in the back of the J-box that makes the hole I need about 1 1/4".
After some more thought, especially since I don't need to protect the cable as it goes through the brick, I'm going to just run bx through the hole and forget about the j-box on the brick. That will speed installation from an hour or two to about 5 minutes.
It's a gas fireplace and the electronics and fan are on the bottom with a plug to power it up coming out through the side. It shouldn't get that hot or it would self destruct.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 07:01 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Running electricity to fireplace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
Thanks Andy,
If I need a connector in the back of the J-box that makes the hole I need about 1 1/4".
After some more thought, especially since I don't need to protect the cable as it goes through the brick, I'm going to just run bx through the hole and forget about the j-box on the brick. That will speed installation from an hour or two to about 5 minutes.
It's a gas fireplace and the electronics and fan are on the bottom with a plug to power it up coming out through the side. It shouldn't get that hot or it would self destruct.

I would just remove the factory cord from the j-box, and hardwire the unit... save you even more time...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 08:19 PM   #6
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Running electricity to fireplace.


That might well violate the listing.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 09:47 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Running electricity to fireplace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
That might well violate the listing.
Possible so, BUT...

Ever see the cord they ship with those units? its a flat cord tied into a handy box with 2" of free wire inside...

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
convert wood fireplace to gas fireplace brisk Building & Construction 3 06-19-2008 08:17 AM
temper glass for fireplace mantel shelf sil Interior Decorating 3 02-13-2008 08:10 PM
help running electricity to barn kavik001 Electrical 10 09-10-2007 04:45 PM
Fireplace leaking mmcginn2 Roofing/Siding 4 04-23-2006 10:12 AM
Water leaking over fireplace mmcginn2 General DIY Discussions 1 04-20-2006 11:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.