Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2013, 01:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 303
Share |
Default

running electrical wire


hi guys,

I need to run wire to a switch for an exhaust fan. Do you have any suggestions on the best way to locate the bottom plate of the bathroom wall so I can run the wire up through the wall?
detroittigerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
Member
 
iminaquagmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 349
Default

running electrical wire


Look for things that go through that wall already and measure off those. For example is there any existing wiring or ducting there? Alternatively, measure off of an outside wall. Is there a reason you can't pull power from the switch or light already there and add a new switch in?
iminaquagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to iminaquagmire For This Useful Post:
plummen (11-26-2013)
Old 11-25-2013, 03:32 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,050
Default

running electrical wire


You can also drill a small hole right at the baseboard and measure from there.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 03:39 PM   #4
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,060
Default

running electrical wire


This will do the job.
http://whatatool.myshopify.com/products/flexi-drill
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (11-26-2013)
Old 11-26-2013, 02:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 186
Default

running electrical wire


That looks like a horrible idea in most circumstances.
JKeefe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 02:54 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,459
Default

running electrical wire


Why's that? It's done that way all the time. It also allows you to pull the wire back when you pull the bit back out of the wall.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (11-26-2013)
Old 11-26-2013, 02:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 186
Default

running electrical wire


I like to see where I'm operating power tools. I understand that it isn't always 100% possible, but sticking a drill bit on a steel cable blind into a wall is asking for trouble in my mind. I'm no pro, so if the pros do it this way more power to them.

We're a bit off-topic, anyway. The question was how to find the bottom plate, not how to make a hole in it. The best way to drill it depends on how it can be accessed.
JKeefe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 03:08 PM   #8
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,257
Default

running electrical wire


If you do it blind you are doing it wrong. Use an inspection mirror and flashlight to clear the area first. Also inspect from below, before drilling.

Done correctly, it is as good or better than drilling up (blindly if you did not check inside the wall) based an measurements.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (11-26-2013)
Old 11-26-2013, 04:46 PM   #9
Member
 
Dave88LX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 510
Default

running electrical wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Make sure you have a powerful drill using one of these. At least in my limited experience. Got stuck, couldn't get in or back out.

Last edited by Dave88LX; 11-26-2013 at 05:07 PM.
Dave88LX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 04:57 PM   #10
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,060
Default

running electrical wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by JKeefe View Post
I like to see where I'm operating power tools. I understand that it isn't always 100% possible, but sticking a drill bit on a steel cable blind into a wall is asking for trouble in my mind. I'm no pro, so if the pros do it this way more power to them.

We're a bit off-topic, anyway. The question was how to find the bottom plate, not how to make a hole in it. The best way to drill it depends on how it can be accessed.
Ah, he wants to locate the bottom plate to DRILL a hole through it to run cable!
Re read the OP.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (11-26-2013)
Old 11-26-2013, 05:01 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,908
Default

running electrical wire


Flex bit and fish stick, is the way to properly do this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
sublime2 (11-28-2013)
Old 11-26-2013, 06:16 PM   #12
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,060
Default

running electrical wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by JKeefe View Post
That looks like a horrible idea in most circumstances.
Based on your comment,
You obviously don't do a lot of DIY work.
If you did you would know what you were looking at and know how to use it.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (11-26-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical wire through and under patio pavers chuckp27 Electrical 6 04-10-2013 07:54 PM
Phone wire along side of electrical wiring DiegoJames Electrical 3 07-10-2012 09:23 AM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
Can Electrical Wire go on the I-Beam thebrandnewguy Electrical 8 08-12-2011 10:16 PM
Low voltage wire & electrical wire (NM) dyang Electrical 3 05-04-2010 10:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.