Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-30-2012, 04:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Share |
Default

Running Electrical Home Runs


I am in the process of re-wiring a whole house I purchase and plan to live in. My question is can I run my home run wires from the second floor, down through the exterior wall? Will this be a problem with inspector or not a problem. Thanks in advance for any help or input.

POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 04:22 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,895
Default

Running Electrical Home Runs


Not a code issue but it is more energy efficent to keep the outside wall for best insulation. I was taught to use the first stud bay next to the outside wall.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 07:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Default

Running Electrical Home Runs


thanks for the help and reply
POWER STROKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 08:30 PM   #4
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 135
Default

Running Electrical Home Runs


You might have to derate the circuit depending how many wires you run up there.
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 10:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Running Electrical Home Runs


Quote:
Originally Posted by deverson View Post
You might have to derate the circuit depending how many wires you run up there.
HUH?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 06:01 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Running Electrical Home Runs


Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydanadem View Post
you will need to enclose the exposed cabling within a weather proof ducting or conduit
for mechanical protection.

this is the correct procedure.

Paul, PFS Electrical NSW

www.pfselectrical.com.au

Another post with misinformation.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jbfan (10-01-2012), OCPik4chu (10-02-2012)
Old 10-01-2012, 06:27 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Running Electrical Home Runs


What has to be double insulated?

Running wires in an outside wall is fine and dandy.

Make sure you use proper wall insulating codes when you are done.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Network Cable in preexisting home Nate8727 Building & Construction 19 06-30-2011 02:27 PM
log home...electrical msauve Electrical 5 06-28-2011 11:20 AM
electrical requirements for large whole home system jumonji Electrical 6 02-23-2010 01:41 AM
running boards for electrical in unfinished basement paulyg Carpentry 2 01-26-2010 09:21 PM
Running new 2nd floor wiring on *exterior* of our home? drh Electrical 12 02-16-2008 06:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.