Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2011, 11:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

running electric/power from house to garage


I am putting in electricity in my garage, it is only going to have 6-8 power outlets with a few over head lights and i need to also install a 220v in there.

What wire would you recommend to install from the house to the garage?

I will not be running it underground, it is only 30-40 feet away so I was thinking of running it overhead on a pole with some pvc or conduit or some sort of sheath to protect it from natural sources. Any ideas?

There is already a panel in there, I will be replacing the breakers due to it being struck by lightning a few months ago. Could someone give me a list of wire I need to buy? I put 2-12 with 20 amp breakers, is that correct for the outlets and another 20 amp 2-12 for the lights above(60 watt bulbs, 4 lights)

Thanks everyone!

nexium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 11:39 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

running electric/power from house to garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by nexium View Post
I am putting in electricity in my garage, it is only going to have 6-8 power outlets with a few over head lights and i need to also install a 220v in there.

What wire would you recommend to install from the house to the garage?

I will not be running it underground, it is only 30-40 feet away so I was thinking of running it overhead on a pole with some pvc or conduit or some sort of sheath to protect it from natural sources. Any ideas?

There is already a panel in there, I will be replacing the breakers due to it being struck by lightning a few months ago. Could someone give me a list of wire I need to buy? I put 2-12 with 20 amp breakers, is that correct for the outlets and another 20 amp 2-12 for the lights above(60 watt bulbs, 4 lights)

Thanks everyone!
Id prefer to do it overhead and the 220v is for a welder i am putting in there. The cable coming from the house is a 3 wire. looks kind of like 2-12. 110v. it is split in half and unrepairable. panel is 8 slots. not sure of the make and model.

I am going to be putting a welder in the garage and maybe an air compressor, in the future.

I;d prefer overhead, suggestions?

nexium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 03:46 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 0
Default

running electric/power from house to garage


Installing a subpanel in a detached building such as you are doing is a very commonly asked question here. Suggest you use the search function and do some research, then come back with more specific questions and folks will be glad to help you.

As for running overhead, I would suggest to reconcider to bury it. Much neater and reliable installation. You don't run conduit overhead - there are appropriate wires for overhead.
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 11:00 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Rewards Points: 0
Question

running electric/power from house to garage


Welder? Air compressor? 240volts? Future workshop?
I suggest a #4 coppe cable,3 conductors plus ground allowing up to 80 amps @ 240 volts.

Only one feed is permitted betweenthe twobuildings; youcannotjuyst add another 12-2 or 12-3 cableasyour powerneeds increase.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-17-2011 at 11:04 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 01:54 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,154
Rewards Points: 62
Default

running electric/power from house to garage


I ran #10 for my garage. I though only wired it for 120 service, due to never plan on using it as a workshop. For you nexium, since you plan on putting in a welder, the question that comes to mind, is what is your current amp for main service to the home?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 09:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

running electric/power from house to garage


The proper wire for adding a sub panel to the garage with overhead wiring would be quadraplex. It's intended to be strung in the air, it has 4 wires, which you would need for a sub-panel. Is there a main breaker in this panel?

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In theory: expand attached garage, or add detached garage? hyunelan2 Building & Construction 5 11-09-2012 05:34 PM
changing location of electric service to the detached garage from the house. marlowc2 Electrical 3 06-12-2011 11:30 PM
Detached garage ground wire to house EMT? johnd393 Electrical 15 09-22-2010 09:15 PM
direct bury wire from house to garage??? help vinylman70 Electrical 30 01-20-2010 09:44 PM
Conduit through garage to house. Max wires? RyanD Electrical 12 08-02-2009 05:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.