Running Electric To Outbuilding - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2011, 09:48 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: southern Indiana
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Running electric to outbuilding


I've been wanting to turn an old detached cinder block garage into a workshop for a while now, but there's no electric hooked up. I've done simple electrical work before such as adding new circuits and adding outlets...but this is beyond anything I've done before.

A few things that I think are relevant.
1) The garage is about 30 feet from the house.
2) There's sidewalk or patio that surrounds the entire house, which I assume will make trenching hard.
3) I have 200 amp service in the house, but it's getting full (4 baseboard heaters, electric dryer, electric range, electric water heater, plus 8-9 rooms of outlets/lights).
4) The septic tank is generally located where I would need to trench...not sure if this is an issue or not.
5) There's absolutely no electrical in the garage at all, no sub-panel, no switches or outlets.
6) I'm thinking I'd want about 60 amps in the garage...enough for an air compressor, table saw, small heater, lights, various other woodworking power tools.

Is this possible to do? What's the best approach to this?

Advertisement

syogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 10:06 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,019
Rewards Points: 2,836
Default

Running electric to outbuilding


Many of your questions can be answered by using the search function and "subpanels".

A demand load calculation might be a good idea to see if there is reserve capacity left in your service.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electric wires running along gas line gusyve Electrical 2 02-20-2011 02:02 PM
Payne gas furnace - blower fan running continuously Ed40 HVAC 0 02-05-2011 03:19 PM
What size wire to use running underground ms66cadillac Electrical 21 01-13-2011 12:14 PM
90 amp electric car charger! The future... Billy_Bob Electrical 16 02-16-2010 03:01 PM
Is my panel sufficient to add Electric water heater andy Electrical 16 04-21-2009 09:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts