Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2011, 09:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running electric to a detached garage


I need to run electric out to the garage all it has is one receptical outlet one light and an electric garage door. Can i run a wire out of the main breaker box in the house underground and right into the garage? and will i need a subpanel in the garage and how big?

xspader298 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:58 PM   #2
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Running electric to a detached garage


depends on what you want to do. You could run 12-2 and just hook up a few receptacles and a light. Going through the effort, id run bigger wire and do a small sub panel

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 10:48 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Running electric to a detached garage


Do a search on this forum. Plenty information.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Running electric to a detached garage


One of the more commonly asked questions here, using the search will find you much information directly related to your need. I suggest doing some researching and searching, if you have any remaining questions or need clarifiations just ask.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 08:46 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pass Christian, MS
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Running electric to a detached garage


V, A few things I've learned lately... if it is a single circuit from one breaker, you don't need a sub panel or grounding rods (easy)... judging from your stated needs it sounds like a single circuit would do... underground wire must be in a conduit unless it is rated UF (underground feeder)...you did not say how far but if it's less than 60' you will have negligible voltage drop...you must have a cut off switch in the garage (a regular light switch will do). Hope this helps.
Joe Willie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need opinons on electric to a garage jerryinmich57 Electrical 2 01-29-2011 09:28 AM
correcting existing subpanel in detached garage mtk Electrical 17 03-14-2010 01:49 PM
60 amp sub panel for a detached garage canyonbc Electrical 32 01-11-2010 11:53 AM
ENT (Smurf) feeding a sub in detached garage) jamiedolan Electrical 1 02-02-2009 12:52 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.