Running Electric To A Detached Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2011, 09:46 PM   #1
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Running electric to a detached garage

I need to run electric out to the garage all it has is one receptical outlet one light and an electric garage door. Can i run a wire out of the main breaker box in the house underground and right into the garage? and will i need a subpanel in the garage and how big?


xspader298 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:58 PM   #2
liscenced electrician
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 1,012
Rewards Points: 538

depends on what you want to do. You could run 12-2 and just hook up a few receptacles and a light. Going through the effort, id run bigger wire and do a small sub panel


jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 10:48 AM   #3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,672
Rewards Points: 4

Do a search on this forum. Plenty information.
J. V. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:17 PM   #4
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016

One of the more commonly asked questions here, using the search will find you much information directly related to your need. I suggest doing some researching and searching, if you have any remaining questions or need clarifiations just ask.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 08:46 AM   #5
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pass Christian, MS
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75

V, A few things I've learned lately... if it is a single circuit from one breaker, you don't need a sub panel or grounding rods (easy)... judging from your stated needs it sounds like a single circuit would do... underground wire must be in a conduit unless it is rated UF (underground feeder) did not say how far but if it's less than 60' you will have negligible voltage must have a cut off switch in the garage (a regular light switch will do). Hope this helps.
Joe Willie is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need opinons on electric to a garage jerryinmich57 Electrical 2 01-29-2011 09:28 AM
correcting existing subpanel in detached garage mtk Electrical 17 03-14-2010 01:49 PM
60 amp sub panel for a detached garage canyonbc Electrical 32 01-11-2010 11:53 AM
ENT (Smurf) feeding a sub in detached garage) jamiedolan Electrical 1 02-02-2009 12:52 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1