Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2011, 04:36 AM   #16
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,666
Share |
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Let's take this one step further, showing the next section of the Code that you conveniently ignored:

(b) Termination provisions of circuits or equipment for circuits rated over 100 amperes, or marked for conductors larger than 1 AWG, shall be used only for one of the following:

(1) Conductors rated 75C (167F)

I stipulate that most equipment used in this case as in 90 and 100 Amp breakers have lugs marked for conductors greater than #1, and therefore the provisions of (a) do not apply. I know for a fact that Square D breakers of these ratings are marked for a 2/0 conductor.

I also checked Cutler-Hammer's web site, and theirs are marked for a 1/0 conductor, also larger than a #1.
Oh darn ya got me again. Also, #2 is smaller then #1 so the 75 degree can't be applied. It is based on the wire size not what the terminal can handle. But this point is mute as long as all terminals and equipment are 75 degree rated. The only other area of concern will be where the wiring methods transition from triplex to ?. The tempature rating of the termination devices will affect the overall installation.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 06:12 AM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


Yeah, I personally don't like doing overhead feeders using things like triplex. Too many bugs, service heads, etc. When faced with having to install a 4-wire feeder, quadplex would have to be utilized.

I wonder if there is any way the OP could use conduit, without burying it? I've seen instances where a feeder was installed using conduit that was attached or run adjacent to a fence, wall, or similar on top of the ground....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 06:38 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


Getting ready to leave for work but I will get pics tonight. Conduit won't work either. There is nothing but a paver patio & driveway asphalt in between my home and the garage. I can deal with running Quad or what ever I have to and transitioning to another feed to the main & sub panel if I have to do that. Be back tonight.
baspinall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 01:32 PM   #19
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,666
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Yeah, I personally don't like doing overhead feeders using things like triplex. Too many bugs, service heads, etc. When faced with having to install a 4-wire feeder, quadplex would have to be utilized.

I wonder if there is any way the OP could use conduit, without burying it? I've seen instances where a feeder was installed using conduit that was attached or run adjacent to a fence, wall, or similar on top of the ground....
#2 triplex is actually rated for 135 amps based on 75 degrees in 310.17. Of course he will have to switch to #3 CU or #1 AL (75 degree)to enter each building. Thought I'd correct that.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.

Last edited by electures; 06-27-2011 at 01:35 PM.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 03:41 PM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


The problem with triplex is there are not enough conductors. Two insulated and one bare = where's the neutral?

Quadplex would be required at a minimum for a 4-conductor overhead feeder ...
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 04:23 PM   #21
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,666
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
The problem with triplex is there are not enough conductors. Two insulated and one bare = where's the neutral?

Quadplex would be required at a minimum for a 4-conductor overhead feeder ...

Sorry, quad.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 06:28 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


Ok, just got in from work. Here are some pictures. A couple of my service connection and where the current line goes to my garage. One of the sub panel that I have in the garage.

Things I have to complete:

1.) I have to change out the sub panel with on that has a 100 A main.
2.) Run feeder (to be determined) between the two insulators.
3.) Convert the new aerial feed to ? .
4) Install 90 A breaker in main panel
5)In garage go with a 35A breaker for my heater circuit and a (te be determined)A breaker for my welder.

Seeing as this feeder has to run up the side of my house. I assume I have to run a conduit with a turn down on the top.
Attached Thumbnails
Running electric to detached garage?-dsc_0018-50-.jpg   Running electric to detached garage?-dsc_0019-50-.jpg   Running electric to detached garage?-dsc_0017-50-.jpg   Running electric to detached garage?-dsc_0021-50-.jpg  
baspinall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 06:31 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


Hard to see but in the one picture you can see that my current feed to the garage in embedded in my stucco, it is then just wire nutted to another line before going to the garage!
baspinall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 05:24 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


bmp

So I am looking at using # 2 AL Quadplex. I will get two service heads for either side outside.

Last edited by baspinall; 06-29-2011 at 05:47 AM.
baspinall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 11:16 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


.......

Last edited by DougD; 06-30-2011 at 11:53 AM.
DougD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 12:33 PM   #26
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,068
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


Is that a sub-panel that is located on the header above the garage door? Isn't this a problem for meeting accessibility requirements?
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 05:37 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


It's above my doorway not the garage door. I will be changing that one out with one that has a main breaker. Will relocate it as well. Although I had an inspector check it a few years back and he didn't mention any problems code wise.
The part that confuses me is how to tie in the Quadplex to my main panel in the house. That's where I need some help.
baspinall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 09:45 PM   #28
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


You don't tie the quadplex to your main panel. IT is only for the overhead span required to connect between the 2 buildings.

From the main panel, you could install some conduit, and pull in some XHHW or THWN conductors up to a service head located adjacent to your point of attachment. Leave 3 foot long tails hang out of your service head, and bug the conductors to your quadplex. The grounding conductor can use the bare messenger conductor of the plex. The others should be marked with black, red, and white stripes.

Repeat the process at the far end, transitioning to wires in conduit.

IF you choose to use type SE-R cables instead of wires in conduit, then you will have to increase your wire size to accommodate the reduced amp capacity recently enacted in the Code.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 10:29 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Default

Running electric to detached garage?


Thanks, I think you filled in the rest of the blanks for me. I'll post some pics when I'm finished.

baspinall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need opinons on electric to a garage jerryinmich57 Electrical 2 01-29-2011 09:28 AM
Standby generator connected via detached garage? vsheetz Electrical 22 04-04-2009 02:44 AM
Subpanel - detached garage without a floor SAS Electrical 12 03-05-2009 11:42 AM
Detached garage setup - Switch loop setup jamiedolan Electrical 3 02-07-2009 12:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.