Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2013, 01:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Running data cat5 cable in walls


As part of my rewiring project, I'm also adding Cat5 data cabling around my house.

I have some of the dual-gang boxes where one side is for low-voltage cable.

It's my understanding that you don't really have to do much for securing Cat5 cable in the wall?

I have been using a spade to drill a 1/2" hole through studs where the cable will pass through, and using small Cat5 nail-in cable staples just to hold the cable in place along the joists in the ceiling. I'm running the cable deliberately through different holes and along different joists from the electrical cable.

I haven't been doing any securing of the cable at the box. Just running it into the box, then stripping and punching down the cat5 jacks. When the wall is finished, I was just going to attach the cat5 jacks to the plates and just feed the wire back into the wall.

Do I need to be aware of anything at the ends of the runs? i.e. at the point where it enters the LV section of the box?

I am running all the cables to the basement into a patch panel, so I was just going to notch out a ceiling panel in the suspended ceiling, bring all the cables there, bundle them and attach them to the side of the rack, and from there have them lead into the cat5 jacks in the patch panel.

Is there any code stuff related to running cat5 that I've missed?

F

fdmillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Washington, U.S.A.
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Running data cat5 cable in walls


Many boxes that are for low voltage wiring are really nothing more than frames for the hole in your drywall. There isn't anyway to clamp the cable if you wanted to. It's good to support the cable with staples or ties but you don't have to clamp it to the box.

You should secure your cables so the LV and HV don't run right next to each other prior to entering the box.


Last edited by dftc; 01-17-2013 at 04:45 PM.
dftc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 07:15 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Running data cat5 cable in walls


No need for boxes on the Lv, just use a ring. Boxes can cause crimps in the cables. The rings allow the cable plenty of room in the stud cavity.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running low-voltage wire and data cables in parallel? bottlerockett Electrical 1 01-01-2013 05:35 PM
Hole Diameter Size In Floor Joist for Data Cable Breakingcustom Building & Construction 20 07-08-2012 10:27 AM
Running CATV cable tima2381 Remodeling 4 03-27-2007 10:17 AM
Advice/Tips on running down walls boxer1-2 Electrical 2 10-04-2005 11:38 AM
Running Conduit in new basement framed walls tben Electrical 3 12-10-2004 11:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.