Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 04:08 PM   #16
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Share |
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Here's a sketch (not an artist sorry)! Also will sch 40 be ok to use inside where it goes in the panel?

Running cable out of  sub panel-image-2538812278.jpg

Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 04:21 PM   #17
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Here is the existing panel I am coming from and the brick wall is the wall on the right. So can I run it like this: pop Knockout in panel and run loose wire down behind drywall- put hole in drywall about a foot from the floor and run wire into lb- sch 40 over to brick wall- drill through drywall and brick- use lb here too-sch 40 through brick to reach outside- another lb and sch 40 straight down- run loose wire 2' underground to shop- sch 40 to exit ground at new panel- use lb about 2' below panel on outside wall of shop- 90 up into bottom of new panel?

Running cable out of  sub panel-image-3824780294.jpg
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 04:25 PM   #18
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,720
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupus71 View Post
Here is the existing panel I am coming from and the brick wall is the wall on the right. So can I run it like this: pop Knockout in panel and run loose wire down behind drywall- put hole in drywall about a foot from the floor and run wire into lb- sch 40 over to brick wall- drill through drywall and brick- use lb here too-sch 40 through brick to reach outside- another lb and sch 40 straight down- run loose wire 2' underground to shop- sch 40 to exit ground at new panel- use lb about 2' below panel on outside wall of shop- 90 up into bottom of new panel?

Attachment 67198
You cant run 'loose' wire in the wall. either exit the back of the panel with an LB and TA type fitting, or cut out the sheetrock, install pipe out of bottom of panel and exit building wherever... but keep the conduit complete from building "A" to building "B", this will save you a headache in the future.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 04:59 PM   #19
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,940
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaWS6 View Post
I am not the OP
Sorry I confused you with the OP
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 05:17 PM   #20
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Ok thanks but I did call the inspector and he said i don't have to use conduit if I'm 2' deep with my ditch. Is there another reason I should use conduit? Also I don't need sch 80 do I?
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 06:01 PM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


You only need conduit for physical protection where direct-bury lines emerge from the ground.

You can NOT bury any type SE cable with or without conduit.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 06:36 PM   #22
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Mobile home feeder isn't considered ser though right? So its ok to bury without conduit as long as the entry and exit is in conduit right?

Running cable out of  sub panel-image-388322247.jpg
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:53 PM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


As long as you have the wire in conduit from where you exit the panel to the 2' below grade it will work. But I would personally use conduit for the whole length. Less digging and a lot more protection for the wire. You can direct bury the wire but you should dig down a few inches below the two foot mark so you can put sand below the wire and and over the wire to help keep the wire from getting punctured by sharp rocks.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:35 AM   #24
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Cool thanks! I was just trying to save money but it probly is worth it to save my back. Last question- when i go from the lb on the outside wall that will connect to the panel do I need another lb on the inside or can it just be a 90 then sch 40 into panel?
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:51 AM   #25
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,638
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupus71 View Post
Mobile home feeder isn't considered ser though right? So its ok to bury without conduit as long as the entry and exit is in conduit right?

Attachment 67230
What is the insulation rating of the cable?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:57 AM   #26
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


I'm not sure. I looked on lowes website and can't even find the stuff. I remember it said use2 on it if that helps. It's the 2-2-2-4 al moble home feeder
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:29 PM   #27
Member
 
ericmunyon12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 55
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupus71
Mobile home feeder isn't considered ser though right? So its ok to bury without conduit as long as the entry and exit is in conduit right?
Just curious, what book is that?
ericmunyon12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:30 PM   #28
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,720
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by ericmunyon12345 View Post
Just curious, what book is that?
NEC Handbook, not completely enforceable, since its an opinion of what the code is saying.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 08:31 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Use PVC Pipe and THHN or ALU Conductors .

You also need ground rods.
Mike Strathmoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:03 PM   #30
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
NEC Handbook, not completely enforceable, since its an opinion of what the code is saying.
I always have the handbook around for reference and agree it is not the enforceable code...however these guys mingle with the members of the cmp's and get their opinion on code intent when they write the book and provide the images. One of the co-authors Jeff Sargent is employed by the NFPA. His credentials are quite impressive and he was the editor of the 2011 NEC. So I wouldn't consider their language in the handbook 100% self opinion or interpretation. They have some pretty good sources ... so I use it a lot when trying to understand actual code language. It's a ncie reference.
If you ever get the chance attend one of Jeffs seminars or discussions. He got me squared away on mobile home grounding when I was confused as hell.....

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running NM cable through studs? RinSF Electrical 19 04-02-2012 08:13 PM
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 05:27 PM
Running underground cable across my yard blue sky Electrical 11 12-31-2011 01:35 PM
Aerial Cable to Garage & Adding Sub Panel CDW59 Electrical 5 12-09-2011 06:43 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.