Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 07:59 PM   #1
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


I'm trying to run some 2-2-2-4 from my sub panel Out to my shop and am not sure what fittings I need or how to go from the panel down behind the drywall and out the brick wall to the yard. Also I keep getting different answers about where the ground rod wire goes. Neutral or ground? Thanks!

Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:04 PM   #2
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Ground rod wire goes to the grounding bar.
Is the panel flush-mounted in the drywall?

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:09 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupus71 View Post
I'm trying to run some 2-2-2-4 from my sub panel Out to my shop and am not sure what fittings I need or how to go from the panel down behind the drywall and out the brick wall to the yard.
This would all be in conduit. Open up the drywall if the panel is recessed.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupus71 View Post
Also I keep getting different answers about where the ground rod wire goes. Neutral or ground? Thanks!
grounding bar, and you'll have two ground rods.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:25 PM   #4
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Yes the existing panel is flush mount behind the drywall. So just bust a hole in it and put conduit behind the drywall or just down to a hole and use one of the lb boxes to exit drywall and then again to exit the brick? Would 2" grey PVC be ok?
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:27 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupus71 View Post
Yes the existing panel is flush mount behind the drywall. So just bust a hole in it and put conduit behind the drywall or just down to a hole and use one of the lb boxes to exit drywall and then again to exit the brick? Would 2" grey PVC be ok?
You cant bury the LB if thats what you use, so you would need an access panel if you re-sheetrock the wall... but yeah, do whatever works with your scenario... I would probably just run 1 1/2" PVC....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:41 PM   #6
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Well my plan would be to use the lb to get me outside then 2' of conduit straight down in the ground then again to exit the ground with one more lb to enter my shop. Kinda confusing?!?!
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:43 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupus71 View Post
Well my plan would be to use the lb to get me outside then 2' of conduit straight down in the ground then again to exit the ground with one more lb to enter my shop. Kinda confusing?!?!
I think you will ned an LB on inside and out. Are you running PVC the whole way? if so stub down in to a 90 sweep towards for new sub.
mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:21 PM   #8
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


No I'm using direct burial. So I need a box where it comes out of the drywall, then an lb on both sides of the brick wall with a 90 on the outside one to go into the ground and another to enter the new building? Is conduit 2" the min for the 2-2-2-4? I'm guessing I would need a bushing on the underground side of the conduit where the wires meet the dirt also?
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:39 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


without knowing the size of sub banel you requiring and the distance of run its difficult to comment.

If it were me I would pipe the whole distance and pull the correct wire for the amperag you want at the sub considering voltage drop for the distance of the run.

Make a sketch and post it it the only way you going to get every answer you need.
mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 06:20 AM   #10
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Ok I'll do that.
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 06:50 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


If your panel is on the outside wall, you can install the LB directly behind it, without busting out any drywall. You'll need a PVC sleeve to go from the back of the panel enclosure to the PB. That sleeve must be connected to the enclosure with a terminal adapter or box adapter.

A tricky procedure to get it all lined up properly: We would use a small drill through the back of the panel, and then switch to a hammer-drill to penetrate the brick. That marks the center of the proposed new conduit sleeve. Then we would chisel out enough brick to allow the LB to fit. Finally, we would use a hole saw and cut the knockout in the back of the panel enclosure to the proper size for the box or terminal adapter.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 08:06 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Must you put the SER in conduit? I plan on using it to go from my main panel to an attached garage, through the walls and across the attic. Sub panel would be flush mounted also, so I didn't think any of it needed to be encased.
OmegaWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:11 AM   #13
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,115
Rewards Points: 2,140
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaWS6 View Post
Must you put the SER in conduit? I plan on using it to go from my main panel to an attached garage, through the walls and across the attic. Sub panel would be flush mounted also, so I didn't think any of it needed to be encased.

In your first post you said:

"go from the panel down behind the drywall and out the brick wall to the yard."

Sure sounds like you are going to a detached building. I think most of us assumed you were going to bury a rated cable. SER is not rated for buried service whether in conduit or not.You can run SER as you describe in your last post.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:34 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
In your first post you said:

"go from the panel down behind the drywall and out the brick wall to the yard."

Sure sounds like you are going to a detached building. I think most of us assumed you were going to bury a rated cable. SER is not rated for buried service whether in conduit or not.You can run SER as you describe in your last post.
I am not the OP
OmegaWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 11:27 AM   #15
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Running cable out of sub panel


No the sub panel is not on the same brick wall. I would have to run out the drywall and over to the next wall then through it to get outside. Can I use PVC for everything including where it will enter the new sub panel? I will draw you a little map when I get off.

Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running NM cable through studs? RinSF Electrical 19 04-02-2012 08:13 PM
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 05:27 PM
Running underground cable across my yard blue sky Electrical 11 12-31-2011 01:35 PM
Aerial Cable to Garage & Adding Sub Panel CDW59 Electrical 5 12-09-2011 06:43 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.