Running AC Unit Off Generator - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2012, 09:00 PM   #16
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

running AC unit off generator


thru the wall units are they window units in sleeves? if so the info tags are on the panel above the evap coils looking into the supply fan squirrel cage... if you stagger the starts they might slide in there undr the 30amp rating...your definitly hear the genny change sounds when they draw...run the supply fans first then click in each compressor from the dial stat....if yor at HD?LOWES eye ball the info tag on a display with a cover off for the sameBTU and volt rating the brands are much in line on the loads....and they are 220V units

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:02 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default

running AC unit off generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by M Engineer View Post
You should be able to run one. AC is running on a 20 amp breaker and generator has a 30 amp breaker.
I can see that you are definitely not an electrical engineer.
Venter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:04 PM   #18
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

running AC unit off generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by Venter View Post
I can see that you are definitely not an electrical engineer.
Ugh, where do these guys come from?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:07 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

running AC unit off generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by Venter View Post
I can see that you are definitely not an electrical engineer.
No. I am not. If the AC is run off a 20 amp 220volt breaker now why would it not run off a 30 amp 220 volt generator?
M Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:10 PM   #20
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

running AC unit off generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by M Engineer View Post
No. I am not. If the AC is run off a 20 amp 220volt breaker now why would it not run off a 30 amp 220 volt generator?
Ugh... Really?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:12 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default

running AC unit off generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by M Engineer View Post
No. I am not. If the AC is run off a 20 amp 220volt breaker now why would it not run off a 30 amp 220 volt generator?
First of all the receptacle size on the generator does not guarantee that the generator could actually provide that much power.

Second, a motor requires a lot of current when starting up. The generator can only provide limited surge power. The power company can provide a lot more.
Venter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:23 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

running AC unit off generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by Venter View Post
First of all the receptacle size on the generator does not guarantee that the generator could actually provide that much power.

Second, a motor requires a lot of current when starting up. The generator can only provide limited surge power. The power company can provide a lot more.

I thought he said the generator was rated at 30 amps at 220 volts and a surge rating of 8550 watts.

Last edited by M Engineer; 08-14-2012 at 09:29 PM.
M Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:25 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,719
Rewards Points: 2,398
Default

running AC unit off generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by M Engineer View Post
No. I am not. If the AC is run off a 20 amp 220volt breaker now why would it not run off a 30 amp 220 volt generator?
Yes it will provide enough running current !
But will it cope with the starting current ?
Most old gennys will !
But the newer ones might not !

So the answer is this !
That genny will run one A/C unit, provided it has enough capacity for the start -up !
Like I said, most of the older gennys will cope ok with SHORT TERM overloads.
But some of the newer genny might not !

You would be pushing your luck tring to run two A/C units.
So I would not reccommend that !

Give it a try and see what happens, it wont hurt anything !

Last edited by dmxtothemax; 08-14-2012 at 10:14 PM.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:28 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default

running AC unit off generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by M Engineer View Post
I thought he said the generator was rated at 30 amps at 220 volts.
Your post said he could do it because the generator had a 30 amp breaker. That rationale doesn't work.

As for what the generator is rated for, the answer is 5,500 watts.
Venter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:43 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Rewards Points: 248
Default

running AC unit off generator


first off my only intention would be to run one of my 220 ac units on a generator, by itself. and just because the generator says it has a 8550 surge doesnt really mean it has that. had a friend that was a electrical contractor but he died years back. dont know why they dont list the amp draw on the owners manual.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 08:48 AM   #26
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,096
Rewards Points: 604
Default

running AC unit off generator


Way to much hand wringing and discussion here... you almost certainly will be able to run one of them unless the a/c or generator is not working correctly. Just do like Stickboy says and try it.

BTW, you said you don't lose power for days at a time? I can tell you don't live in an area served by PEPCO. Most of our outages here do indeed last for days.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 09:44 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

running AC unit off generator


[QUOTE=hotrod351;988771... i always have a couple of 5 gallon bottles that have some in them. ...[/QUOTE]

Have you figured out how long that will run the generator? I think that will be discouraging.

Last edited by ionized; 08-15-2012 at 09:57 AM.
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:08 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

running AC unit off generator


The short answer is yes, you will be able to run one of those AC with your generator. Unless the gen is way cheap and actually produces less than half it rated output it will be fine.

If it is a robust model gen, you might be able to run both. That will depend somewhat on how efficient the ACs are. You will want to start the one that draws more start up current first, and then start the one with lower start up demand. Your clamp meter will be handy to determine this.
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 07:18 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Rewards Points: 248
Default

running AC unit off generator


well i bought another 5500 watt with a 8250 watt surge, building up the courage to test it out, i have a 16000 btu backup ac i hardly ever use to try it on. think i understand what your saying, the generator might have a 8200 watt surge but for how long, im not sure how long it will have to feed it until it settles down. but im sure if can run the 16000 then it will be more than able to handle the smaller unit. it just would be nice in the summer, when its 110 + and humid, to be able to get some comfort. i had a friend that was a electrical contractor, died about 6 months ago, and he said theres nothing like the power from the electric company, unless you happen to have one of those $5000.00 OR $6000.00 units, they even have battery backup systems that will handle but now were really talking money. if i had that much money i dont think id live in a place where the temps get to 125+, at least not in the summer.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 08:29 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Rewards Points: 248
Default

running AC unit off generator


according to this im good to go.
Attached Thumbnails
running AC unit off generator-screen-shot-2012-08-17-5.26.10-pm.png  

Advertisement

hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 08:44 PM
Running a portable generator 150' away from the house mrbillz Electrical 11 09-27-2011 10:51 AM
Trane condensing unit keeps running fastback4 HVAC 1 06-08-2010 07:49 PM
York AC unit running slow...Please help :^( mr.coinring HVAC 52 05-29-2010 05:41 AM
HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running... PTighe Electrical 70 09-14-2009 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts