Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2011, 04:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

running 220V to dock for float lift.


i currently have 220V line run from the main electric panel of the house to the front of the dock with #6 - 4 wires (about a 150 foot run). i need to run another 100 feet to the end of the dock for the new lift and the contractor only needs #10 wires. I don't think i can splice into the smaller wire, but wondered if i should i install a subpanel with cuttoff at the front of the dock and then run the #10 from there to the end?

Uncle Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 05:21 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

running 220V to dock for float lift.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Mike View Post
i currently have 220V line run from the main electric panel of the house to the front of the dock with #6 - 4 wires (about a 150 foot run). i need to run another 100 feet to the end of the dock for the new lift and the contractor only needs #10 wires. I don't think i can splice into the smaller wire, but wondered if i should i install a subpanel with cuttoff at the front of the dock and then run the #10 from there to the end?
Yes, that's a good solution. You can connect the #6 directly to the #10, as long as the breaker on the circuit is 30A or less. You may want to consider using #8 or #6 all the way down the dock since voltage drop is likely to be an issue on such a long run. A subpanel at the dock would be a good idea anyway, though, because you may want to add other loads like lights and receptacles later.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 220v Electronics on 120V Outlet? hellfire Electrical 42 01-14-2014 09:59 PM
Why is Inducer Fan Running? artbuc HVAC 3 07-31-2010 10:39 AM
Main box feeding 220v and 110v brearker box off a 50am breaker? uvamosk Electrical 30 10-14-2009 11:46 PM
Running electrical out to the garage... HomeBrewJeff Electrical 2 05-21-2009 10:59 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.