Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2010, 11:51 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Question

Running 2 Circuits in PVC


I am building a detached garage with a solar system on its roof that will provide power to the entire home. I have run 1 1/2" PVC from the house main to the garage for a 100A sub service for the garage circuits. My solar installer has asked for a separate 30A circuit for the system also come from the home main to the garage. Dealing strictly with the NEC, would the code allow me to run both the 100A service wires and 30A solar sys wires in the same 1 1/2" PVC. I could locate max number of conductors in the code, but what I have found deals with the same size conductors. I've probably overlloked it. Can anyone provide advise?
JDAAMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 12:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Running 2 Circuits in PVC


Pretty sure you can with the right size conduit
But a much better idea to seperate them into 2 conduits
Depending upon the exact wire you will use 1.5" may work
What is the length of the run ?
Also may want to upsize the wire on the 30a solar in case you ever want to add capacity

Fill calc:
http://www.onlineconveyorparts.com/enghelp/conduit.htm
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 01:06 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Question

Running 2 Circuits in PVC


Scuba Dave,
Thanks for the fast response. The run is only about 66 feet. The solar system is a 4KW. It's actually more than my house consumes. My main reason for wanting to run only one PVC is that my sub-service will be inside the garage, and I have already embedded the 1 1/2" pvc in the concrete slab. If I make another PVC run, I will have to go through the wall. Trying to avoid this as I was trying to keep all the utilities to the garage hidden. I plan on running both CU for the service and solar system. Does the NEC even address a situaion with different size conductors in one PVC run? I could not find anything?
JDAAMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 01:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Running 2 Circuits in PVC


As far as I know its OK as long as you are within fill ratio
There is derating if you go over a certain amount of wires
But seem you will have only 6 wires + grounds
2 hots, neutral & ground for each ?
I seem to recall 6 being the magic number before derating
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 01:32 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Running 2 Circuits in PVC


First thing I will address Dave question .,

Oui, 6 useally is the magic number to start the derateing.

Now to OP question.

There are few case you have normal power to garage and solar circuit in the same conduit but the codes will intertwine a little.

You will need a disconnect switch at the solar panel { this is very specfic on the NEC requirement ( it have to be AC/DC rated )

And for solor circuit you use diffrent colour conductor so you know it is not a normal conductor to use.

And really for myself I rather run seperated conduit for solar but few case you can run both in one conduit { you will have to watch derating on it that where it get tricky }

Also check with your local officals for latest info with solar codes they will change a bit and make sure the POCO is aware with it. they will provide a diffrent meter socket to read both way.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running power to small barn in VA from home service 350' ribertgropius Electrical 9 06-12-2010 02:18 AM
Running cat5 wire over ventilation / heating ducting ajtool General DIY Discussions 7 06-11-2010 12:45 PM
2nd floor Laundry and 2nd floor Bath, how many circuits? Bobblestop Electrical 23 04-08-2010 10:06 AM
constant running water sound gmk2008 Plumbing 9 11-11-2008 08:22 PM
taco 700 constantly running.... drizzyboy HVAC 3 11-27-2007 07:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.