Running 12/2 Nmb Wire In An Old Home - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2013, 03:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Necrosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


My Outside outlet's hot wire is dead. I need to replace the wire(s). My Question is, How do u run new wire w/o having to repair/replace Drywall? I'm not trying to be...too lazy, just wanna save $$$ on replacing the wires.
20 amp circuit breaker 12-2 nmb 20 amp outlet.
I literally just need to go up, along the Ceiling and down to the Circuit Box. My greatest issue is that, my Ceiling is the Floor from Upstairs... There really is no "crawl space"...

Advertisement

Necrosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 12:11 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


You will need to cut holes at the floor to ceiling transition. If you are lucky the floor joist run in the direction the cable needs to be fed. Otherwise you will need holes so can drill each joist.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 12:35 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,820
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


Quote:
Originally Posted by Necrosis View Post
My Outside outlet's hot wire is dead.
Do you KNOW where this outlet is fed from?
Is that outlet ALSO dead?
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:54 PM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


Wire doesn't just go bad. Chances are you have a GFCI that is tripped or a loose wire at another receptacle or light switch (or fixture).
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 03:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Necrosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


I know what wire it is, where it's fed from, and the out let is new. Circuit breaker is also functional...
Necrosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 04:38 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


Quote:
Originally Posted by Necrosis View Post
I know what wire it is, where it's fed from, and the out let is new. Circuit breaker is also functional...
And_?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 11:36 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Necrosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


Sorry, but simply writing "And?" w/ no actual question is just rude. However, house Helper, you were Right about the Switch, I checked everything throughout my house and fund the bathroom outlet had tripped! I just pressed reset and the power came back to the outside outlet. Thank you for your help!
Sincerely Necro
Necrosis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Necrosis For This Useful Post:
HouseHelper (07-10-2013)
Old 07-10-2013, 12:07 PM   #8
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,829
Rewards Points: 2,146
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


Necrosis -

You probably did not notice that you did not answer an earlier question referring to a GFCI or did not realize that it is much different than a "breaker" that is in the main box supplying power to the circuits. Because of that there was little to do to help you. That is common problem with a "newbie".

A switch could have been fed off of a GFCI that opens a new can of worms.

Dick
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 01:07 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Necrosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


concretemasonry I over looked the GCFI because It shouldn't have been connected to the outside outlet. who ever did the electrical system in this house was retarded. Calling me a noob and dick is completely uncalled for. you have been reported. Do not post on this thread again.

Last edited by Necrosis; 07-10-2013 at 01:10 PM.
Necrosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 01:19 PM   #10
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 194
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


Quote:
Originally Posted by Necrosis View Post
concretemasonry I over looked the GCFI because It shouldn't have been connected to the outside outlet. who ever did the electrical system in this house was retarded. Calling me a noob and dick is completely uncalled for. you have been reported. Do not post on this thread again.
I may be incorrect, but I'm guessing that 'concretemasonry' is named Richard, and goes by that nickname of Dick. I don't think he called you a dick; he merely signed off on his post with his name- Dick.
mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to mm11 For This Useful Post:
concretemasonry (07-10-2013), frenchelectrican (07-10-2013), HouseHelper (07-10-2013), Kyle_in_rure (07-22-2013), Philly Master (07-10-2013)
Old 07-10-2013, 01:38 PM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


Quote:
Originally Posted by Necrosis View Post
Sorry, but simply writing "And?" w/ no actual question is just rude. However, house Helper, you were Right about the Switch, I checked everything throughout my house and fund the bathroom outlet had tripped! I just pressed reset and the power came back to the outside outlet. Thank you for your help!
Sincerely Necro
Necrosis.,

Let you know that it was common in older code edition to have a single GFCI to protect bathroom , outdoor receptale plus garage recepectale even in some of the kitchen receptale with single GFCI receptale I know it was common many years ago but that is no longer legit per modern NEC code requirement.

That time many years ago the GFCI was pretty expensive item so they try to keep the cost down now with modern day the GFCI receptale is much cheaper than GFCI breakers so it become normal around in most places.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Necrosis View Post
concretemasonry I over looked the GCFI because It shouldn't have been connected to the outside outlet. who ever did the electrical system in this house was retarded. Calling me a noob and dick is completely uncalled for. you have been reported. Do not post on this thread again.
As I posted above comment whomever ran the wiring arrangment for that era is correct and it was NOT retarded for that era ( late 60's to mid 80's ) then when get to more modern era that pretty much end of that route.

So when that place get rewired in that time era it will follow the latest code that time now let fast foward to current time era. We do know that is no longer the case due the bathroom will required it own circuit and the kitchen will required 2 SABC ( small appalince branch circuit ) the garage will gernally it own circuit. but note this part some are it is common have the outdoor recepales tied to the garage receptale but some area not so it will be it own circuit as well.

As far for calling anyone noob I been called that before few time but afterwhile it will go away I have been called worst than that.

I have one freind I know his real name is Richard but also called Dick which it is a common nickname I know some peoples feel insluted with that so some will just drop the dick word and replace with Rich or Richard but it pretty much up to them what they want to be called.

We do try to help many peoples in here much as possible.

Merci.,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (07-12-2013)
Old 07-10-2013, 01:40 PM   #12
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,829
Rewards Points: 2,146
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


Necrosis -

Also I did not call you a "noob". If you read closer you are classified as a "Newbie" by the site according to your experience and/or amount of exposure.

You might have earlier noted that you eliminated a GFCI in addition to just a "breaker".

I don't think you own the tread you created to get feedback and cannot limit anything.

DICK
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 07:08 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 153
Rewards Points: 151
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


Certain " plugs " are required to be protected by GFCI devices . Bathroom and out side plugs are on that list ( among others ) .

It is indeed common for plugs to be wired " down stream " of a GFCI plug , to receive the required protection .

What the OP described is not that unusual . It is one of the first things I look for , when a plug is dead .

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 07:40 AM   #14
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,554
Rewards Points: 790
Default

Running 12/2 nmb wire in an old home


................but ya dosen't havta call me Mr. Johnson.

Advertisement

__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old 2 wire homerun splicing with new 12/2? buckman Electrical 1 09-22-2011 09:29 AM
Running wire jackal24 Electrical 5 05-10-2011 08:33 PM
Wire Choice 12/2 or 14/2 Pentium Electrical 13 05-05-2011 04:33 PM
What size wire to use running underground ms66cadillac Electrical 21 01-13-2011 12:14 PM
wire running question ponch37300 Electrical 4 04-21-2009 04:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts