Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 10:12 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Run romex through or around a receptacle box?


I'm installing a microwave in a wall cabinet in the kitchen. Below the cabinet will be a counter receptacle on a different circuit. The microwave and counter box will be on the same stud. How am I supposed to run the romex for the lower box? Should I go through the box, run a loop around the box, or run the wire on the other stud and then cross back over below the upper box?

I can't seem to find this info anywhere!

OmegaWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:36 AM   #2
Love for Construction
 
<*(((><'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 318
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Run romex through or around a receptacle box?


Don't go in the box if there is no reason to, as you will complicate things having to wire the grounds together being that they are two different circuits.

Just have the wire go around the box and ensure that it is stapled to the stud to secure it.

__________________
-luke-
<*(((>< is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:38 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,093
Rewards Points: 2,980
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Run romex through or around a receptacle box?


You could go through the stud, around the box on the opposite side of the stud and come back through the stud again if the box has to be on the same side. Or just go down the opposite side of the stud and come through above the lower box.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:49 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Run romex through or around a receptacle box?


I am shying away from going through the box. Ill loop it around the box and see how that goes. I would rather not drill more holes in the studs, I've run out of nail plates twice now!
My rough inspection is tomorrow, fingers crossed.
OmegaWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 01:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Run romex through or around a receptacle box?


Soooo... I passed!

The guy was only an hour and a half late. We were #21 and last of his stops for the day. He didn't say boo about anything except for me jumping the gun and installing the high hats. He complained that he couldn't see the wire for them hanging out the ceiling hole. My girlfriend offered to show him the attic where the connections could be seen, but he declined (shrug). I'm shocked it took so little time and he was gone.

Just need to install the hood vent duct now and then drywall can go up! Btw, does anyone know of a clean/nice product or trim piece to install a vent cap onto? Arlington make a fantastic vinyl siding plate for outlets and lights but nothing I can work with to install a 6" cap.
OmegaWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:23 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Run romex through or around a receptacle box?


"I'm shocked it took so little time and he was gone."

Funny because I say the same, not much of an inspection.
Here and gone that fast and passed!
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:25 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,811
Rewards Points: 2,420
Default

Run romex through or around a receptacle box?


See if the Arlington MM10 would work for you.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to build a romex spinner jimmy21 Electrical 17 02-06-2012 01:01 AM
romex connection to receptacle apshirm Electrical 3 09-15-2011 03:28 PM
Replacing receptacle with GFCI wiring problem braden Electrical 8 04-06-2011 09:32 AM
receptacle: 1 romex in 2 out? DIYGST Electrical 4 01-28-2010 05:35 PM
how to wire romex to 2 3 ways to a half hot receptacle smoothinstall Electrical 3 11-30-2008 11:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.