$ To Run Light @ 120 Vs 240 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-21-2008, 09:43 AM   #1
plj

Rewards Points: 10
Question

$ to run light @ 120 vs 240

I'm hoping you folks can educate me a little bit - I'm trying to understand the costs involved so that I can make an educated decision on which light fixtures to purchase (if any), and what voltage to have them wired them at.

I currently have 10 250 watt metal halide light fixtures at my business, they have multitap ballasts and are connected at 240 volts. I'm being advised to convert to flourescent to save $. Yes, I know flourescents consume less energy - but exactly how much less? To answer that, I need to know exactly how much my 250W MH fixtures consume, and I'm not sure how to measure that.

My limited understanding (I am not an electrician) is: Watts = volts * amps. So I measured the amps on one of the lights, it was 1.07. I also doublechecked (measured) the volts, it is 240. So my watt consumption for this fixture is 240 * 1.07 = 256.8 watts, so if I run that light for about 4 hours it costs me 1.027 kwh, for which the electric company charges me 16 cents. Right?

Now, heres the problem: I'm being told by multiple people (not electricians) that my calculations dont work, because I'm running at 240V which is a lot more efficient than 120V. They're telling me that I cant just measure the volts & amps to get the actual costs, since the 240V is a higher pressure it actaully requires less power to run the light, so my charges will be lower. Is there any truth to that? Can I simply measure the volts and amps to estimate my costs?