Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2010, 06:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Run 12/3 but only use 2 wires?


I'm curious if it is okay (within code) to run 12/3 but only use one hot, the neutral and ground and not use the red?


Thanks

monkeystomach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:15 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,832
Rewards Points: 2,458
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Run 12/3 but only use 2 wires?


No problem with that.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Run 12/3 but only use 2 wires?


Great! Good to know.


Thanks
monkeystomach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albany, GA
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Run 12/3 but only use 2 wires?


Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeystomach View Post
Great! Good to know.


Thanks

If the red is at any point connected to the hot, you need to cap off the other end.
clashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 07:03 PM   #5
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amesbury, MA
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Run 12/3 but only use 2 wires?


Don't snip the red to where you can't use it. You never know when you may need it in the future.
SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Neutral Wires Hot Problem rayray221 Electrical 7 09-20-2010 11:20 AM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 02:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 01:35 PM
Dimmer wiring in a box with 3 black and 3 white wires and a pink wire to boot! everender Electrical 9 02-15-2009 09:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.