Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2011, 06:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 59
Share |
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


Can these rubber coated cable clamps be used to hold back main feeder cable in a electrical panel and pass code?

http://andersonpower.com.au/store/im...teelRubber.jpg

rodm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 08:06 PM   #2
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


I would say no as you would have to drill into the panel to secure them right?

Any modification to the panels, either physical or electrical voids the UL listing and could be grounds to fail an inspection.

Why are you doing this?

__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 08:28 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,844
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LyonsElecSupply View Post
I would say no as you would have to drill into the panel to secure them right?

Any modification to the panels, either physical or electrical voids the UL listing and could be grounds to fail an inspection.

Why are you doing this?
Ever make a knockout in a panel????????????
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 08:44 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Ever make a knockout in a panel????????????
LOL. I know, right.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 08:45 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


rodm1, those are called adel clamps, and no, they are not typically used to hold the cable or wires in a panel. Tie wraps would be more appropriate.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 04:36 AM   #6
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LyonsElecSupply View Post

Why are you doing this?
Seconded
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 04:45 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 59
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


My electrician ran a panel screw into the main feed! I would like to make it hack proof. I could tie wrap to the lug wire coming after the main breaker.

Thanks

Right middle screw where tape is

Last edited by rodm1; 01-14-2011 at 04:48 AM.
rodm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:11 AM   #8
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


well the correct screws without points would go a long way to helping. Usually with such large wire you can bend it and it will retain its shape, but for more control of wiring in panels (because of future need to move them) wire ties are used by electricians. they are cheap and easy to cut out if needed.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:22 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rodm1 View Post
My electrician ran a panel screw into the main feed! I would like to make it hack proof.
TOO LATE!

WTH is with that homemade feed-through lug setup???
Is this guy for real?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:22 AM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 476
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
TOO LATE!

WTH is with that homemade feed-through lug setup???
Is this guy for real?
Pete, I saw the modified sub-feed before I got down to your post. Agree. What a hack job.

FWIW, I did install a true QO sub-feed loadcenter a few weeks ago. Had to special order it. They are pretty common in panelboards and pretty rare in loadcenters.

Mark
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 07:49 AM   #11
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,261
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


Saw the "screw into feed line with tape" on a new home construction about a year ago. Electrical inspector caught it, made the electricians remove the entire panel and feed wires back to the meter can. They were not happy to say the least. The inspector cited the use of electrical tape on main feed wire, and "damaged panel" for the reason to remove all of this. I'm thinking it was a more personal thing.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 07:58 AM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,526
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
WTH is with that homemade feed-through lug setup???
Is this guy for real?
Now he can sell the homeowner a subpanel to make up for all the spaces that can't be used due to the feed-thru arrangement.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (01-14-2011)
Old 01-14-2011, 08:36 AM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 476
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


BTW, nice debris and foreign matter all over the bus.
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 08:43 AM   #14
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,031
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


No. The are used to secure jacketed cables. The Military uses them for the Radio Wave Guides, same with the Cellular Industry, and securing Telco cables.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 08:47 AM   #15
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,031
Default

Rubber coated cable clamps in main panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
Saw the "screw into feed line with tape" on a new home construction about a year ago. Electrical inspector caught it, made the electricians remove the entire panel and feed wires back to the meter can. They were not happy to say the least. The inspector cited the use of electrical tape on main feed wire, and "damaged panel" for the reason to remove all of this. I'm thinking it was a more personal thing.
Of course, it is always fun replacing a Bus Bar when it melts from not getting Shore power in sync with Shipboard power systems. Never thought that we could melt one, but we did it in France. Had to run on Ship's power the whole 3 weeks we were tied to the dock. Home owners would not know what to do with that one, and would probably just run down to the local home center and buy what ever wire the store monkey told them would work.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Sub Panel Main Lug Load Center - Single Phase ? Roy Rowlett Electrical 21 08-20-2009 06:55 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Main panel design question amakarevic Electrical 13 06-04-2007 04:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.